Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Railroads» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on merging with a bankrupt company rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Benjamin Benson
United States
Dublin
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In this situation:


There are two companies that feed into the coal zone but one of them has gone bankrupt but has no exposed dead ends. Could an active company force (build) a three-pronged track into the bankrupt companies track to take over?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torbjörn Axelsson
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmb
Just found the game so I have no access to the rules (except watching the rule video posted here).

The rules video stated that to merge you have to connect to an open end of the bankrupt railroad by placing a tile from one of your own open ends.

Upgrading a tile is a move made by the railroad that owns the tile, so you can't do that from another railroad.

So in this case you need to first build a bridge, then a turn into the central spine of the bankrupt railroad.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Hanrahan
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Hi Sonicwarhol,

In the oldest edition you could not, however, about 2 years ago, that was changed to permit splitting the other company's track to create the merge. So the answer is, YES, if you have at least one build to spend, you can connect to that company by splitting it's track.

Brian
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.