Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fellowship travelling through Moria rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Keira Henderson
United States
Richmond
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Could someone explain what happens when the fellowship takes the path through Moria? I am a little confused about when the shadow player draws a hunt tile and declaring the fellowship, etc. A step by step example of what the turns would look like would be extremely helpful
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you are declaring the position of the Fellowship durong the Fellowship phase, nothing happens, unless the Balrog is there (card on table for base game; Balrog in play and in Moria for LoME expansion.

If the Fellowship is revealed, that is when an extra hunt tile is drawn if the Fellowship moves into, out of, through, or remains stationary in a shadow stronghold that is still controlled by the shadow player.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Keira55 wrote:
A step by step example of what the turns would look like would be extremely helpful.


Fellowship moves and is revealed by the hunt. The hunt damage is resolved, then the tracker is reset to zero and the Fellowship may move a number regions equal to where it reset from. If it moves into, out of, through, or remains stationary in a shadow stronghold still controlled by the Shadow player, another hunt tile is drawn.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Salvatore Corrao
Italy
Caulonia Marina
RC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that the importance Moria had in the movies (also in the book?) may have led many players to believe that there should be some special rules in the game regarding passing through it. I was one of those players.

As it has been said, if we only consider the base game, Moria is not different from any other SP stronghold apart from its strategic position as a shortcut.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
neko flying
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wolverutto wrote:
I think that the importance Moria had in the movies (also in the book?) may have led many players to believe that there should be some special rules in the game regarding passing through it.


What makes it special is that
1) the shortest path from Rivendell to Mordor passes through Moria, and,
2) none of the other "reasonable" paths leading to Mordor (Old Forest Road, Rohan, and Gondor) have the Fellowship going through a SF Stronghold.

So it is the only SF Stronghold the Fellowship is ever likely to go through, apart from being revealed in Morannon / Minas Morgul on their last move before entering Mordor.

12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
See this thread for an example of the procedure.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.