Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Austerlitz 1805: Rising Eagles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Impassable terrain adjacent movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


Let's suppose that there is only cavalry under Austrian artC.

1. Nothing would hinder the French infantry from moving along the road next to the river, no cavalry or artilery ZOC, right ?

2. Would the artillery be entitled to opportunity fire if the 111e moves from adjacent hex to another adjacent hex, although no ZOC is exerted ?

Same question if it is a routed unit positionned at same place as 111e?
Would the routed unit ever use that road if it is the shortest to exit ?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
walter vejdo
France
paris
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

hello

as writen the rules do not make exception for ZOC across stream (as opposed to village or forest for cav).
so there is ennemy zoc across the stream and the infantry has to stop.

a routed unit could not use the road and the artillery could make opportunity fire.

the artillery might not cross but its influence is still there.

The question you did not ask: and what about without the artillery, with only the cav next to the stream?

given the rules: same as above, there is a Ezoc even if the cav cannot cross. to be fair it is an exception that you could change as optional rules for cav zoc in a module where cav cannot cross streams.
In Ligny and Waterloo, streams can be crossed, so no need for this exception.


4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So the official March 2017 errata on this site is wrong. Best is to modify it.

RISING EAGLES ERRATA AND Q&A MARCH 2017

ERRATA:
ZOC (addition): Combat unit do not extend ZOC into hexes in which they cannot move into (as Cavalry across un-bridged stream in Rising Eagles).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
walter vejdo
France
paris
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
done in the coming errata and Q&A update with a final position:

Cav have no ZOC in hexes where they cannot go. Artillery and Infantry have.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.