Popular Tags: [View All]
Seth
Netherlands
Eindhoven
Noord Brabant
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Caveat: this article sprouts my opinion for 3 to 5 player games. I have no experience playing with 2.

In the beginning, when this game was fresh, people stated that FCM was a pure sandbox. Anything would go and there where infinite possibilities on who you could hire and when and absolutely stay in competition for the win. Not much later opinions started to shift towards scripted plays, or at the very least limited choices in the opening moves, stating that beyond the Recruiting Girl (RG) or Trainer (Tr.) (some would even like to go so far as to say Recruiting Girl only) there was little point in picking up a first turn Marketing Trainee (MarT) or Errand Boy (Eboy), let alone any of the others.

For me personally, I’m with one foot and four toes in one camp and my tiny toe in the other. See, I tend to agree that on an individual player level there are only two relevant choices for the first turn hire: Recruitment Girl or Trainer. I have yet to see any good results with Errand Boy or Marketing Trainee apart from the occasional win by a very experienced player at an otherwise newbie table.
But, and this is important, on an individual level this limit in choice is only for the first turn. With RG as an opener, I’ve seen people successfully continuing their game with a second turn RG – Eboy and RG – MarT combo’s, as well as exotic plays like RG (2x) and RG – Waitress (Wai) or the entirely feasible Eboy – MarT or MarT (2x). With trainer there are slightly less configurations in my opinion, but still enough to keep things fresh.