Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Hands in the Sea» Forums » Rules

Subject: Confused by errata (build and attack w/ warship same turn?) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alastair Cornish
United Kingdom
Bromley
Kent
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi there, the errata says:

5.6.3 – Build a Warship
Change “you may not engage an enemy Fleet in the same round in which you have built a Warship” to
“you may not build a Warship in the same round in which you engaged an enemy Fleet”.

So does that mean that I CAN build a warship THEN attack on the same round? (I just couldn't do the reverse?)

Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Berger
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
Jigsaw
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tigermuppetcut wrote:
Hi there, the errata says:

5.6.3 – Build a Warship
Change “you may not engage an enemy Fleet in the same round in which you have built a Warship” to
“you may not build a Warship in the same round in which you engaged an enemy Fleet”.

So does that mean that I CAN build a warship THEN attack on the same round? (I just couldn't do the reverse?)

Thanks.

You cannot build a fleet and engage an enemy fleet in the same round, in any order.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan F
United States
Corpus Christi
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tigermuppetcut wrote:
Hi there, the errata says:

5.6.3 – Build a Warship
Change “you may not engage an enemy Fleet in the same round in which you have built a Warship” to
“you may not build a Warship in the same round in which you engaged an enemy Fleet”.

So does that mean that I CAN build a warship THEN attack on the same round? (I just couldn't do the reverse?)

Thanks.

i have noticed you posting several questions, happy to help answer them but a few were questions that you can find answers to as well by searching the rules section for the game. that way there aren't as many posts and you get your answer faster as well.

hope you are enjoying the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence Hung
Hong Kong
Wan Chai
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think Alastair does have a point here. The rules should be carefully constructed and shouldn't expect the players to find them out by implications. One of the joy in wargaming is reading rulebook and finding every questions have been answered by the rulebook itself and need no further clarifications from the game designer.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan F
United States
Corpus Christi
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lawrence Hung wrote:
I think Alastair does have a point here. The rules should be carefully constructed and shouldn't expect the players to find them out by implications. One of the joy in wargaming is reading rulebook and finding every questions have been answered by the rulebook itself and need no further clarifications from the game designer.

I don't disagree. i had the exact same question is all this summer and posted it and it was quickly answered. just trying to save space in forums so there aren't multiple posts for exact same question.

i have found that even the best publisher in war game business (IMO), GMT still will have errata and FAQ in their first edition or two. it is only when they have reached the 3rd edition usually that all the questions have been hammered out and clarified through the rule book.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.