Mike Slabon
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In a 3 player game, the rulebook states that a player cannot pass until they play both strategy cards.

What happens in this scenario: A player chooses strategy cards #1 and #8. They play #1, but then only perform tactical actions and component actions until they use them all up. What happens when it comes back to turn 1? They still haven't played strategy card #8, can't pass, but can't take any other actions. Anyone know?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Walsh
United States
Bethlehem
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Hoc Spatium Mercede
badge
This is another fine mess you've gotten us into.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They have to play the Imperial Strategy. On the following turn they have to pass. There's nothing associated with coming "back to turn 1" that would prevent this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you play with 3 or 4 players, each player only uses the initiative order of their lowest numbered card. So if a player took #1 and #8, you only use the #1 card for determining initiative order.

So if you had:
Player A - #1 and #8
Player B - #4 and #7
player C - #2 and #3
player D - #5 and #6

The turn order would be A,C,B,D,A,C,B,D...

It doesn't matter if they activate the #8 card first or the #1 card first, either.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thompson
United States
Homewood
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have not played this yet, but I was wondering the same thing in the abstract, is there a penalty for not playing your strategy card? Or is it all the players responsibility to pay attention and make sure the guy with an unplayed strategy card to keep at least 1 strategy token available. And if this is overlooked, what is the penalty?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You do not need a command token to take a Strategy Action.

All the strategy actions are free, so you can always take them. The tokens in the strategy pool are used to utilise the secondary abilities of the strategy cards of the other players; they are not used on your own Strategy Action/s.

Thus, the rule is you must use your Strategy Action before you Pass. You cannot choose Pass while you have a readied Strategy card and you must perform a Strategy Action rather than Pass if you have no other choice.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tompy wrote:
is there a penalty for not playing your strategy card?

There is no penalty, you just can't pass until you've played your Strategy Card. Shouldn't be hard to monitor, if they declare a Pass, you just make sure they've played it (which is why you flip it face-down when you've done so).

There's no specific time when you have to play it, you just have to play it sometime before you can end the round. If someone passes and hadn't activated their card, the whole table would have to be completely not paying attention, because it's pretty obvious.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.