Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Triumph & Tragedy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Further questions on diplomacy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jose Luis Bonilla Rau
Spain
flag msg tools
After a game of T&T last weekend, my gaming group had a couple of questions about the rules (2nd edition).

First. If the United States becomes an allied satellite during the Year Start of 1942, does this mean that the USA Forces for that year (4 blocks at 1CV each) are placed inmmediatly thereafter during the Production Phase?. Or does the western player have to wait until Diplomacy Resolution to consider the USA a satellite and thus forfeit those 4 blocks?

Second. How does turn order affect diplomacy resolution?. An example, Soviet Union is first, Axis second. During government, and through play of diplomacy wild cards, the SU has placed 3 influence in Turkey. But then the Axis plays a regular diplomacy card on its Turkey side. Afterwards, during diplomacy resolution, as the SU is first, Turkey becomes a soviet satellite and the Axis diplomacy card has no effect. Or does it?

Thank you all in advance for the answers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Boardgame Aesthete
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When the US becomes a Satellite, you don't get their CVs until the following year.

In your example, the Soviets' 3 Influence in Turkey would happen first, and then the Axis' 1 would reduce it to 2, so Turkey would become a Protectorate, but not a Satellite.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil McDonald
England
Staffordshire
UK
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Regular diplomacy cards cancel each other before the end of the diplomacy phase, as soon as an oposing one is played, after which (end of phase) the status of each country is assessed. Similarly a special card could remove an influence token from the country before the end of the diplomacy phase.

Though status can change during the diplomacy phase by playing special yellow card effects that add or remove influence tokens from the map, Satelite status can only be achieved at end of phase. This is to prevent first player playing 3 cards for a nation and immediately grabbing Satelite(s). It would break the game.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eccentric Positionality
Germany
Bonn
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
badge
Fight Win Prevail - but enjoy the game whatever happens :D
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding the First question is an exception: if USA get their third influence during Year Start 1942 from Public Opinion rule (see 8.44), then it becomes immediately a western satellite and the troops will arrive.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Johnson
United States
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmb
logicman wrote:
Regarding the First question is an exception: if USA get their third influence during Year Start 1942 from Public Opinion rule (see 8.44), then it becomes immediately a western satellite and the troops will arrive.


Correct!

AND because the troops arrive BEFORE production, they can immediately be built up.

Thus if you want spend 4 of your production on the new American troops, you can have:
Fleet-2
Air-2
INF-2
ARM-2

This is a pretty typical thing to see for the new American forces...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.