Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Jaipur» Forums » Rules

Subject: Exchanging only one card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Troy Nevitt
Canada
flag msg tools
The game states you can take all cards you want, and exchange them with your hand/camels. Since it says all, does only exchanging one work? For example:

I have 4 bronze and one green and two blues. The library has 3 camels, a silver, and a bronze.

Can I exchange the green for the bronze? The rules do not say you may do it ONLY if you want more than one. I think the rules should have been more explicit there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
www.punchboardmedia.com/geaux-gaming/
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. If you take one card, you flip a new one from the deck.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ethan Yanyo
United States
Evansville
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The exchange action is also referred to in the rules as "Take several goods", so no, it doesn't work with only one.

In your example, you wouldn't be able to take a single card since you already have 7 cards in hand, so if you really want the bronze, you'll need to trade two cards for it and the silver. Further, if you have 7 cards in hand, and there are 4 camels on the table, you can't do the exchange action at all (since you can't take camels in an exchange), so try not to get stuck in that situation!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Case
United States
Greensboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

From page 4 of the rules:

Quote:

When making an exchange :
- the surrendered cards can be camels, goods or a mixture of the two;
- the same goods type cannot be both surrendered and taken at
the market;
- you can never exchange just 1 card from your hand against 1 from
the market. An exchange always involves at least 2 cards for 2 cards.





cool

14 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Nevitt
Canada
flag msg tools
Gambiteer wrote:

From page 4 of the rules:

Quote:

When making an exchange :
- the surrendered cards can be camels, goods or a mixture of the two;
- the same goods type cannot be both surrendered and taken at
the market;
- you can never exchange just 1 card from your hand against 1 from
the market. An exchange always involves at least 2 cards for 2 cards.


cool

I did look at that section but must have skimmed past it when looking for rules. I finally found it this time (was on page 6 in my copy, but whatever, I found it)

Thanks all!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Case
United States
Greensboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Furen wrote:
(was on page 6 in my copy, but whatever, I found it)

Ah yes, my bad, it's page 4 of the pdf of the rules, but page 6 of the printed rules as you note.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Doepp
msg tools
I thought this rule was poorly explained in the rulebook. In the description of what happens each turn it sounds like you can do it, but then at the end of the book it says you can't do it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.