Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carrie Rostollan
United States
Auburn
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Today I set up a solo game and played three times.

Lost egregiously every time.

I don’t know what it is, but there doesn’t seem to be any way to do all the Terraforming required in just 14 turns. Money is too tight, and cards don’t do enough things together to make it matter.

I am not a newbie at this. I’ve played Terraforming Mars about six times and won three times, twice in a tie situation. So I understand the mechanics, but is there something I’m missing here in the solo mode?

Or is the game supposed to be this difficult to do as a single?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anne Skelding
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to check, you're not limiting yourself to two turns per generation, right?

Otherwise, be really careful about what cards you buy. Not a single spacebuck wasted. Can't use the card now? Not worth it. Doesn't directly aid production or terraforming? Not worth it. Standard projects are your friend.

Those are the general rules I recommend until you're winning at least sometimes. From there you can start playing around with ways to get higher scores.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marlene Thornstrom
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My general approach is to exploit my corporation's special ability as much as possible to boost TR, then in the last 3-4 rounds, I should be generating enough money to buy standard projects to max out the remaining terraforming categories.

Hard to tell what's going wrong for you without more details. How close are you to winning at the end (in terms of oxygen, heat, oceans)? What's your TR at that point?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Malcolm King
Australia
Mount Hawthorn
Western Australia
flag msg tools
http://waboardgamers.org.au/
badge
mbmbmbmbmb