Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Order of Action with a shared ability Deck rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hans van der Drift
Australia
Bulimba
Qld
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Which order do you activate monsters when you have a shared ability deck?

EG. Bandit Guard and Inox Guard both share the Guard ability deck.

When a card is flipped from that deck which order do you activate the monsters?

1. Bandit Elite and Normal then Inox Elite and Normal
2. Bandit Elite then Inox Elite then Bandit Normal and Inox Normal

or is it the other way around with Inox before Bandit?

If someone could point out the rule reference or where the tie break is indicated I would appreciate it.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hvddrift wrote:
Which order do you activate monsters when you have a shared ability deck?

EG. Bandit Guard and Inox Guard both share the Guard ability deck.

When a card is flipped from that deck which order do you activate the monsters?

1. Bandit Elite and Normal then Inox Elite and Normal
2. Bandit Elite then Inox Elite then Bandit Normal and Inox Normal

or is it the other way around with Inox before Bandit?

If someone could point out the rule reference or where the tie break is indicated I would appreciate it.

Thanks

What scenario have you found that grouping in? I've played 95% of the game, and I haven't encountered a shared ability deck yet....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hans van der Drift
Australia
Bulimba
Qld
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Your question actually answered my question.

Its the Kickstarter bonus campaign.

Just Another Night and the scenario instructions have it.

"Each monster on the board is an enemy to
you and an enemy to every other monster
on the board. Bandits and Inox will share
monster ability cards, with all Bandit Guards
acting before all Inox Guards in the initiative
order, and all Bandit Archers acting before all
Inox Archers in the initiative order"



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hvddrift wrote:
Your question actually answered my question.

Its the Kickstarter bonus campaign.

Just Another Night and the scenario instructions have it.

"Each monster on the board is an enemy to
you and an enemy to every other monster
on the board. Bandits and Inox will share
monster ability cards, with all Bandit Guards
acting before all Inox Guards in the initiative
order, and all Bandit Archers acting before all
Inox Archers in the initiative order"




Ah. I didn't play the bonus campaign! (yet)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Brenner
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
mfaulk80 wrote:
hvddrift wrote:
Which order do you activate monsters when you have a shared ability deck?

EG. Bandit Guard and Inox Guard both share the Guard ability deck.

When a card is flipped from that deck which order do you activate the monsters?

1. Bandit Elite and Normal then Inox Elite and Normal
2. Bandit Elite then Inox Elite then Bandit Normal and Inox Normal

or is it the other way around with Inox before Bandit?

If someone could point out the rule reference or where the tie break is indicated I would appreciate it.

Thanks

What scenario have you found that grouping in? I've played 95% of the game, and I haven't encountered a shared ability deck yet....


Don't believe it's a scenario. Nevermind, it is a scenario, but the below is still true:

It can happen in a Random Dungeon, if you open the door to the next room with the previous yet to be cleared out.

I played this with Black Imps and Forest Imps and went with the spirit of the rules. Elites first, then highest number between the elites. If both elites have the same number, I went alphabetical to disallow my party to tilt the game in their favor (Black Imp before Forest Imp). Then normals, then highest number between the normals, then the same tiebreaker. Tiebreaker wasn't needed in our case as there was only one Black Imp left, but there you have it.

EDIT: Sounds like, according to the official scenario rules you posted, they just go straight alphabetical.
1 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DukePhoenix wrote:
EDIT: Sounds like, according to the official scenario rules you posted, they just go straight alphabetical.
That's a bit of a small sample on which to base a generalisation, but it fits with the designer's tenet of simplification.

Probably one to add to the FAQ
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Schlosser
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
In the scenario special rules section, it states that all bandit guards will go before Inox guards and all bandit archers go before Inox archers. I played it as:

bandit elites > bandit normal > Inox elites > Inox normal.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Florin
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds like the special instructions cover the scenario but a ruling is still needed for random scenarios. I'll ping Isaac and make a FAQ entry when he responds.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Brenner
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
mccrispy wrote:
DukePhoenix wrote:
EDIT: Sounds like, according to the official scenario rules you posted, they just go straight alphabetical.
That's a bit of a small sample on which to base a generalisation, but it fits with the designer's tenet of simplification.

Probably one to add to the FAQ


I was thinking the same thing! Would have loved for a 2nd or 3rd scenario to base the conclusion on, but as far as I have seen, none exist.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Ender
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Alex, could you maybe follow up on this? As far as I can tell, it's still not part of the FAQ.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Florin
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think I forgot to ask him cause I don't see it in my outbox nor inbox. I'll ask him now.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Wolff
msg tools
aflorin wrote:
Sounds like the special instructions cover the scenario but a ruling is still needed for random scenarios. I'll ping Isaac and make a FAQ entry when he responds.

There is at least one numbered scenario that uses modified random dungeon rules and we had two different types of monster sharing the same action deck at the same time when we did it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Baker
msg tools
brunowolff wrote:
aflorin wrote:
Sounds like the special instructions cover the scenario but a ruling is still needed for random scenarios. I'll ping Isaac and make a FAQ entry when he responds.

There is at least one numbered scenario that uses modified random dungeon rules and we had two different types of monster sharing the same action deck at the same time when we did it.


There’s another that has multiple monster types sharing a deck that doesn’t specify in the scenario rules:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
#92 has all three Guard types and two Archers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Florin
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From Isaac:

If it doesn't spell it out, players can decide, so long as the order is consistent each round. For ease of resolution, I'd recommend players activate all of one enemy type, then all of the other.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.