Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Conflict of Heroes: Guadalcanal – The Pacific 1942» Forums » Rules

Subject: Smoke and Off Board Artillery rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stabs Feldwebel
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Do units in a hex covered by a smoke marker receive the defensive modifier for smoke when the are subjected to off-board artillery attacks?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Click
United States
Bristol
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Nothing to see here
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was hoping someone else would have an answer since I cannot find anything directly related to this in the rules.

I guess I would personally rule that smoke doesn't matter since LOS doesn't matter and the artillery is attacking a hex and not a specific unit(s) with small arms or even tank fire.

Also, I thought that since hidden units are not immune to the attack, units covered by smoke will also not be immune or protected by smoke which is used "to cover a units position and movement". Position and Movement do not matter when attacking a hex with a bunch of rockets. just like not being able to see a hidden unit at all does not matter.

But, I have not rules to back this, only my thoughts on the situation.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
uwe eickert
United States
Fremont
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. Smoke affects LOS and placing artillery strike zones. But once the artillery is landing, smoke does not affect a unit's defense.
This is a good question and I will make sure that I include it in the next rules set.
Happy Holidays!
Uwe
8 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ottavio Ricchi
Italy
Roma
flag msg tools
Very much the same reasoning could apply to mortar fire
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
uwe eickert
United States
Fremont
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ottavio,
The mortar fire on Guadalcanal was very low caliber and was often determined by direct LOS. So smoke did have an impact.
BUT for gameplay purposes, it may be best to make one overarching rule.
Thoughts?
Happy Holidays!
Uwe
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Click
United States
Bristol
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Nothing to see here
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mortars are not a "carpeting" effect like Artillery.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Karl
United States
Vienna
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the rules are fine as is with a clarification added about off-board artillery.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
uwe eickert
United States
Fremont
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, I appreciate the input!
Happy Holidays! Sunday is Christmas Eve!
Uwe
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.