Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Kreus» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hekatonkheires and Nature cards as wilds rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sarah Mikelman
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We played last night and ran into some confusion a couple of rounds in. We were playing with 4 players. By the 3rd player we had revealed all of the level II cards, but none of them were complete. Then the 4th player revealed Hekatonkheires.

We weren't sure if this ended the game. That card says that you can't play any element or aggression cards until someone has played a nature card, but does the nature card need to be placeable? Or can you just put down a nature card as a wild, or with the knowledge that it will get discarded and then remove Hekatonkheires?

Also, unrelated to the aggression cards, what's to stop someone from putting down a nature card (say it's the last player for that round), but then deciding to make it a wild if it turns out they can't play it? Or is that the idea? And at what point are you supposed to decide the color of the wild? Should it be declared before anyone reveals? Or is it a decision that can be made after it is revealed?

(My friends and I loved the game, just had a couple of questions)

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konrad P
Poland
Warsaw
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say you need to play a Nature card as a Nature card to make Hekatonkheires go away. Its more difficult that way and seems to go with the spirit of the rules.

We decide the way to use the Wild cards as they are played, so just going with a Wild when you're the last player is a viable tactic.

Key thing is to continue having fun - its such a beautiful, puzzly game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben
msg tools
mbmb
Hello Sarah,
Sorry for the late answer.

In order to lure away Hekatonkheires one of the cards played by the players during their next Creation phases have to be a Nature card.
It can be played as an Element, or even discarded, it's still a Nature card, and so it works on Hekatonkheires.
Ho, btw, you still get an energy token from playing this card, since it enters the game

About your second question, you can't prevent a player from playing a card once Divination phase is over. However, during their turn in Creation phase, players are free to decide what to do with their -own-card. They simply have to decide it at their turn.
So, if a player plays a Nature card as an Element, he'll decide at his turn where to play it (on which Nature card) then choose which element it represents.
If, still at his turn, he can't place it, he'll simply discard the Nature card.
Note that even if discarded, a Nature card still enters the game (it still is played). So it also works to lure away the Hekatonkheires, and also provides an Energy token.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.