Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Ethnos» Forums » Rules

Subject: need 2-player setup help rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rick Teverbaugh
United States
Anderson
Indiana (IN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I figured in a 2-player game you still randomly drew 2 tiles at a time and put them order from low to high on the 2 age spaces. But a line in the rules for 2 players has me wondering. That line says the player with the most markers takes the higher point total. Would it not be just as accurate to say that the player takes the point total for the second age as it will always be as high or higher than the first?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brodie
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No...in the first round, the two point totals are the 1st token value and 0. If it's the second round, the two point totals are the 1st token value and the 2nd token value.

The winner always takes the higher value (and in the second round, if the other player isn't in the area at all, the winner gets the sum of both values).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Teverbaugh
United States
Anderson
Indiana (IN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Brodie17 wrote:
No...in the first round, the two point totals are the 1st token value and 0. If it's the second round, the two point totals are the 1st token value and the 2nd token value.

The winner always takes the higher value (and in the second round, if the other player isn't in the area at all, the winner gets the sum of both values).


But itsn't the higher value (or at least the same value) always the second age tile?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brodie
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The higher value token isn't available in the first round. Only the lower value token.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Teverbaugh
United States
Anderson
Indiana (IN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, but why does the rules state that the player with the most tokens in the second age takes the higher point total? Wouldn't that always be the second age token?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brodie
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, specifically in the second age...ya, it should always be the second age token (or both tokens if the other player doesn't have anyone in that area).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Teverbaugh
United States
Anderson
Indiana (IN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was just confused as to why the rules didn't just say the player with the most tokens in a territory after the second age would take the points from the second age token.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.