Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Time of Crisis: The Roman Empire in Turmoil, 235-284 AD» Forums » Rules

Subject: Damnatio Memoriae rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Norell
New Zealand
AUCKLAND
flag msg tools
mbmb
Just seeking clarification on when exactly this card can be played.

Does it have to be in you hand at the time or merely in your inactive deck?
Or can it be in your discard pile?

For example, say I become emperor and at the end of my turn, draw the DM card, can I play it immediately?

Thanks for any clarification here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Roy
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pnorell wrote:
Just seeking clarification on when exactly this card can be played.

Does it have to be in you hand at the time or merely in your inactive deck?
Or can it be in your discard pile?

For example, say I become emperor and at the end of my turn, draw the DM card, can I play it immediately?

Thanks for any clarification here.


I would think you'd need it in your hand.

Since you choose which cards go in your hand each turn (from your draw pile, anyway), you just shouldn't choose it if you want to use the event unless you are planning on becoming Emperor on your next turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wray Ferrell
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
hist wrote:
I would think you'd need it in your hand.


To be 100% correct, you would have to play the card during your turn. You only get influence and events from played cards.

Thanks, Wray
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Roy
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wray wrote:
hist wrote:
I would think you'd need it in your hand.


To be 100% correct, you would have to play the card during your turn. You only get influence and events from played cards.

Thanks, Wray


Thanks, Wray! That is what I meant, though.

In your hand so that you can play it.

But I can see how it may have been unclear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Norell
New Zealand
AUCKLAND
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks both
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard G
United States
Santa Monica
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Wray wrote:
hist wrote:
I would think you'd need it in your hand.


To be 100% correct, you would have to play the card during your turn. You only get influence and events from played cards.

Thanks, Wray


The rules say, "The card still generates its influence points whether or not you choose to use the event." This suggests Damnatio is optional even if you use the card for its 4 influence? If you decide to forego the benefit of draining an opponent's legacy points to avoid mobs, can you?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin G
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Don't fall in love with me yet, we only recently met
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. All card powers are optional.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.