Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
114 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: Higher price of the game vs. supporting your local game store - My recent night and day experience. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
N S
msg tools
Hello everyone,

I apologize in advance for a long post.

I am new to hobby of modern day board gaming and wanted to share my experience about a couple of local game stores.

Store 1: When I first discovered the hobby a few months ago, Pandemic was one of the first things that was recommended and I loved it. Then I discovered Pandemic Legacy and wanted to buy it. Amazon at the time had it for $47.99. I was searching for local game stores to pick it up in so that we can start playing immediately. I Found a couple of stores through google and contacted this store… and when I asked for their price, they quoted me $46.99. This was a no brainer, I got into my car and drove over to pick it up. This store has a very small collection of board games and they mainly focus on role playing/ miniature games and comics that I am not into. I asked if he had another game (I believe it was Five Tribes) in stock and they didn’t. They IMMEDIATELY offered to place an order of that game for me. They continued to say that they can make a special order for any game for me that they are able to get their hands on and also price it competitively.