Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Panzer Grenadier: The Kokoda Campaign» Forums » Rules

Subject: Terrain rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Olsen
Denmark
Ringsted
Danmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

I am having a real hard time figuring out what is "Jungle" and what is "Light Jungle".

On map 35 I assume something like 0808 is Jungle.

What about 0516 which seem to have a brown-ish colour?

Is 0210, say, Jungle or Light Jungle?


On map 34, what is the terrain in hexes:

0307
0812
0605
0701

I believe if I know what the terrain is for the above mentioned I should be able to figure it out.

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Lloyd
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
0201 - Jungle
0307 - Light Jungle
0605 - Jungle with creek
0701 - Jungle with trail
0812 & 0516 - Jungle with trail, on slope

An interesting thought about 0605; I a unit moved along the creek, could it avoid the jungle?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Olsen
Denmark
Ringsted
Danmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. I think I got it now.

Somewhat related (slightly): If I shoot into a hex which has Jungle+Trail, is there still the Jungle modifier, or is it considered a trail hex?

How about LOS, would such a hex block it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Lloyd
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Michael_Olsen wrote:
If I shoot into a hex which has Jungle+Trail, is there still the Jungle modifier, or is it considered a trail hex?

How about LOS, would such a hex block it?

Jungle combat modifiers, sighting, LOS, command rules apply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Olsen
Denmark
Ringsted
Danmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
plloyd1010 wrote:
Michael_Olsen wrote:
If I shoot into a hex which has Jungle+Trail, is there still the Jungle modifier, or is it considered a trail hex?

How about LOS, would such a hex block it?

Jungle combat modifiers, sighting, LOS, command rules apply.


It seems I was not clear. What I meant (in both cases) was:

If a hex has both Jungle and Trail, which one is used for LOS and "cover"?

In a more generic sense this could be asked for any hex which has road/trail + jungle/woods/building/etc.

Edit: Rereading the reply, are you saying that a hex with jungle+trail is considered a jungle for combat but a trail for LOS? Could you please point me to where in the rulebook this is written? That will help me understand the rules better, thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Lloyd
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Breaking it down: Jungle with trail in it,
Blocks LOS, because it is a Jungle hex.
Units only visible from adjacent hexes, because it is a Jungle hex.
-1 DF, -1 BF, -1 Assault (attacker) & First Fire, because it is a Jungle hex.
Leaders may not influence or activate units from outside the hex, nor may leaders inside the hex activate or influence leaders/units outside the hex, because it is a Jungle hex.
Units/leaders pay 1 MP moving into the hex from a contiguous, connected trail hex. Otherwise entry is as a jungle hex, including disorientation.

General rule in PG: Roads/trails/tracks do not change the effects of the primary terrain in a hex, except for movement from contiguous, connected road/trail/track hexes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Olsen
Denmark
Ringsted
Danmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
plloyd1010 wrote:
General rule in PG: Roads/trails/tracks do not change the effects of the primary terrain in a hex, except for movement from contiguous, connected road/trail/track hexes.


Thanks. That is clear. I wish I could find it in the rules though.
The Terrain rules seem somewhat vague but since there is no index there might be some rules I have overlooked.

For movement it is clear (use the most expensive terrain feature) but for fire and los less so.

Thanks again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Lloyd
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You might find more information over at PG-HQ. Particularly in the annotated rules section.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.