Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

PQ-17: Arctic Naval Operations 1941-1943» Forums » Rules

Subject: Screening and Surface Combat Example rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrey Stepanov
Russia
Arkhangelskaya oblast
164523
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Hello!

7.5.2 Surface Combat Procedure:
ii. Maneuver
First the defender ..., then the attacker may move any units ...from the Deployment into the Torpedo Attack, Screening, or Withdrawal areas of the Battle Display
7.5.4 Screening: Each unit in the Screening or Torpedo Attack areas that is not DiW or Crippled can block two enemy units from attacking any friendly units in the Withdrawal area, or one enemy unit from attacking one friendly unit in the Deployment area. Place Screening units adjacent to any friendly unit it is protecting in the Deployment area and opposite the blocked unit(s).

Below I posted a picture from Surface Combat Example, round 1. The Axis player places his ships after the Allied player. Can he put the "Hipper" in the central square, which no one blocks from attacking, and then fire at the convoy ships?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Janiec
United States
(Teller County)
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
No, because of the first sentence of 7.5.4. The 1CS Allied DD unit screens Hipper from attacking the Convoy Ships in the Withdrawal Area, no matter where the cruiser moves. Hipper's moving after the Allied unit commits to screening cannot change this.

Don't let the sequence of which side moves second lead you to believe that the Axis here can negate the Allied screening. Once the DD unit declares its screening commitment, you can think of it as moving with the German cruiser to maintain its blocking position. Or, recognizing this, you can do what we do and not bother to move the screened units laterally at all, since it does them no good.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrey Stepanov
Russia
Arkhangelskaya oblast
164523
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Then, is there any sense in placing units in this or that order in Deployment area? For example, on a posted picture, German destroyers of type 34-36 and type 36A stand side by side. Would English TB O-P class protect convoy ships if the Axis player placed one DD unit in the center square? After reading the rules, I thought that one unit can block only two units in front.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Janiec
United States
(Teller County)
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
The presentation on the display is abstract, rather than a literal arrangement of where the units are with respect to each other in the same area. Only the Area (range) matters, not where the units are in that area. For example, the OP-class TBs could choose to block Hipper and one German DD unit rather than the two DD units. In that case, you might want to place Hipper next to the blocked DD unit, opposite the TBs, to show this, but that's strictly to remind players of who is screening whom.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrey Stepanov
Russia
Arkhangelskaya oblast
164523
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Now I understand. Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.