Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Santorini» Forums » Rules

Subject: Eris v. Hermes, Castor & Pollux, et al rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew E
United States
Omaha
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Eris (promo card) has the following special ability:

Quote:
Your Turn: you may move and build with an opponent’s worker this turn instead of your own, as long as it is not their worker that they most recently moved.


When playing as Eris against Hermes, Castor & Pollux, or any of the other gods whose powers let you move two (or more) workers per turn, do we just assume that those workers move in order, and that the one moved second is the "most recently moved" worker? That's how we've been playing it, but it seems safe to check in.

Similarly, we're curious about what happens when a power (such as Hermes) allows you to have a move without touching either pawn. Do you have to trace back in history to determine which one was most recently moved, or does it reset, or is there some other way to handle that?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Van Biesbrouck
Canada
St Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Andrew_C_E wrote:
When playing as Eris against Hermes, Castor & Pollux, or any of the other gods whose powers let you move two (or more) workers per turn, do we just assume that those workers move in order, and that the one moved second is the "most recently moved" worker? That's how we've been playing it, but it seems safe to check in.


Correct. The power says 'most recently moved' to handle powers that can move multiple workers on their turn. These powers would be wise to choose their move order to limit Eris' abilities.

The power also says 'their Worker' to handle powers such as Dionysus (and Eris, I guess) that can move other players' workers.

Andrew_C_E wrote:
Similarly, we're curious about what happens when a power (such as Hermes) allows you to have a move without touching either pawn. Do you have to trace back in history to determine which one was most recently moved, or does it reset, or is there some other way to handle that?

Hermes wrote:
Your Turn: If your Workers do not move up or down, they may each move any number of times (even zero), and then either builds.

Moving 0 times is not moving; Hermes allows both workers to move but does not require them to do so (unlike Terpsichore). If moving 0 times counted as moving then Hermes vs Hypnus would need to be banned....

If a power lets you avoid moving (Castor & Pollux, Siren, Hermes) then Eris needs to remember the last time that one of the workers moved. If it is going to be difficult to remember, use a coin from from the expansion or a wooden cube from another game to mark the last moved worker.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.