Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Charterstone» Forums » Rules

Subject: Adding a new player and other clarifications. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Randy Nguyen
United States
California
flag msg tools
So last night we played a 5 player game and the 6th player came near the end of the first game. As far as I can see, you carry EVERYTHING over to game 2 and from game 2 on you will only hold how much you are allowed to depending on your perks. This lead to having people hoarding a lot of materials in game 1 to get a big advantage in game 2.

Another problem we had is how do we add a new player to the game later? We didn't play with an automa and we did put all character's buildings on the board. Someone already purchased the 6th player's building card in game 1 as well. The rules say that you give the new player equitable perks and such but is really vague in how to set it up. How do you know whats fair and how much to give to balance it out? How about their starting resources and money? And since their building was taken in game one and no other advancement cards are placed in game 2, would it be impossible for the new player to get any advancement cards or building cards, unless someone discards them? Seems like they would be in a really big disadvantage. We ended up packing it up for the night and moved on to another game.

Also for can you discard assistants and building cards (unopened crate) to pay for quota?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Randy: Yes, we consider this an asset, not a problem. We found that playtesters, while learning the game early in the campaign, wanted to carry stuff over from game 1 to game 2. The sweet spot for capacity kicking in was after game 2. The game points this out a few times before game 1 to put players on the same level--that way they all know up front that they should get stuff early and often, as they're going to be able to keep it.

As for catching up a player who joins late, it really depends on what you've unlocked and what you have access to. That's why we just suggested to make it equitable based on your specific situation.

Assistants and building cards are types of advancement cards (see rule 7), so yes, they're eligible to be spent for quota.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.