Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Dice Throne: Season One» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retribution! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bronson Shipp
msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmb
Retribution question.
Does it halve the incoming damage? or will the paladin still take full damage AND deal half damage back?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Martin
United States
East Lyme
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Never enough of these to go around...
badge
Never cut a deal with this guy...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Paladin still takes all the damage he's due, but he deals half of the incoming damage back to the attacker.

It's especially nasty if you're looking to take, let's say 15 damage. Ace you're defensive roll to prevent 6 incoming damage. Play a card like "Not This Time" to prevent 6 more and then spend Retribution!

In this example you'd only take 3 (preventing 12 of it), but deal 8 (half of the incoming damage rounded up) back in return...Ouch!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manny Trembley
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
David is correct.

Retribution is a great ability in tandem with Protect and his defense.

Taking 10 damage?
Retribution to deal back 5.
Protect to cut the 10 in half so you only take 5.
Now roll defense and maybe prevent ALL 5.

People need to think twice before attacking a fully buffed Paladin.

But isn't that the truth in all games??!

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bronson Shipp
msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmb
THANKS!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
adi p
msg tools
mbmbmb
mannyt wrote:
David is correct.

Retribution is a great ability in tandem with Protect and his defense.

Taking 10 damage?
Retribution to deal back 5.
Protect to cut the 10 in half so you only take 5.
Now roll defense and maybe prevent ALL 5.

People need to think twice before attacking a fully buffed Paladin.

But isn't that the truth in all games??!



New rules put defensive ability first before any cards or status effect token can be played in the turn order breakdown. Does this mean that incoming damage is reduced before being returned by retribution? The rulebook says all these cards and tokens are resolved instantaneously. Then what about the following:
1) retribution + protection: is the damage returned before or after protection?
2) + increase dmg by attacker: is this before or after retribution and/or protection?
If paladin used protection and/or retribution, can I then increase my dmg to avoid that added dmg being protected or returned? Because my decision to increase dmg depends on whether or not paladin can halve it or returned it to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Ryerson
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
I’m still a little confused about Retribution. It deals half of the incoming damage before the defensive roll is made or another status effect is played (Protect)? If the damage is reduced by the Paladin wouldn’t that affect the amount of “incoming damage”?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Youkhana
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Can I use retribution against a collateral damage attack
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.