Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Dungeon Degenerates: Hand of Doom» Forums » Rules

Subject: Trouble with Combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kean Eggett
United States
California
flag msg tools
Hey y'all,
I love this game. Its amazing looking and puts me in the mood to bash skulls and take drugs and party hard. The first part is the only one I'm having trouble with, specifically the differences between Guard and Assault stances and the consequences of each.

As far as I can tell it breaks down in the following ways:
Assault:
Successful attack - do damage equal to your highest orange or power die.
successful guard - reduce damage by your highest green die.
Failed attack - no damage is done to the enemy.
Failed guard - take full damage.

Gaurd:
Successful attack - Do damage equal to your highest orange die.
Successful guard - Reduce damage by highest green or power die.
Failed attack - No damage is done.
Failed guard - Reduce damage from ONE monster by power die (or dice).

Is that correct?

I also have some other serious questions though that I can't figure out:
Do you attack in Guard stance? Is the same amount of damage done?
When being attacked by multiple monsters, only one roll determines if any of them do damage, right? They all attack at the same time, but you can only choose to attack one at a time per turn, right?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Radey
United States
EL CERRITO
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
yes this is correct. To be clear:
ASSAULT
successful defence- reduce damage by your highest green die.
this means reduce damage from each monster by the highest green die.


GUARD

Successful defence - Reduce damage by highest green or power die.
this means reduce damage from each monster by the highest green or purple die.
Failed Defence - Reduce damage from ONE monster equal to the value on your Power die. If you roll additional power dice, each may be used to reduced damage from a different monster, but you cannot use multiple dice to block against the same monster.


yes, you can still attack while in Guard stance

yes, you only roll defence once per turn & apply that roll against all the attacks against you for that turn. When you use an Attack, you have to pick one specific target. To damage multiple enemies at once, you'll need to use a special combat action or quick action like those provided by bombs, caltrops, or the Shock Wave skill.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cody Frost
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I've had a situation with combat where I am being attacked by multiple monsters and my Guard defense fails. Should I roll the power die once for each monster I'm fighting, even if I'm only allowed to roll one Power die?

Also, what if I'm not allowed to roll Power dice (due to having been Stunned? I assume Stunned prevents the use of Power dice when it's beneficial; rolling for a failed defense is probably just logistically better with Power dice as they aren't necessary for a Combat roll to count.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty
msg tools
Avatar
HausOfQwert wrote:
I've had a situation with combat where I am being attacked by multiple monsters and my Guard defense fails. Should I roll the power die once for each monster I'm fighting, even if I'm only allowed to roll one Power die?

No; you get to assign that one power die to one of the attacking monsters. The others are going to have their way with you.

HausOfQwert wrote:
Also, what if I'm not allowed to roll Power dice (due to having been Stunned?

Then, on a failed defense roll, you're taking full damage from every foe.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kean Eggett
United States
California
flag msg tools
Awesome okay.
Great game, man. My friends and I love taking a little bit of shrooms, putting on some disco lights and getting weird with it.
Can't wait for the expansions!
5 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Radey
United States
EL CERRITO
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
excellent.. come & join us in the Palace of Lord Scrott!goo
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lion Noir
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
@Kean What is this expansion you are talking about?
@Eric Who is this Lord Scrott?
Can I visit his Palace?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kean Eggett
United States
California
flag msg tools
Lion Noir, just whispers of a nameless fear.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.