Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Dinosaur Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: Chaos Theorist Specialist question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rusty Shackleford
United States
Willow Grove
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
So, the chaos theorist lets you take an unassigned DNA die and roll it at the end of the round to immediately gain its effect. My question is, would the die that gets used for adding extra threat count as assigned or unassigned? We all agreed it should count as assigned because it was being used for something, but I just wanted to get some input about it now that the game is over.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Lewis
United States
Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I just asked the same question in the FAQ thread. The text says unclaimed. You can use the one in the holding spot.
Edit: Source
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty Shackleford
United States
Willow Grove
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Awesome, thank you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Smith
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
It's a love/hate relationship.
badge
Check out my board game instructional videos on my YouTube channel: "The Game Explainer".
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I assume that if there are no "unclaimed" dice, i.e. no die is placed on the Threat spot, then this Specialist provides no benefit for that round. Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rolando
msg tools
mbmb
verballyinsane wrote:
I just asked the same question in the FAQ thread. The text says unclaimed. You can use the one in the holding spot.
Edit: Source


So if you use that die, does that mean there is no added threat for that round or would the threat on the die still apply?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremiah
Japan
Okazaki
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
muskett32 wrote:
verballyinsane wrote:
I just asked the same question in the FAQ thread. The text says unclaimed. You can use the one in the holding spot.
Edit: Source


So if you use that die, does that mean there is no added threat for that round or would the threat on the die still apply?


The round ends after the clean up in phase 5. Threat is assessed before that in phase 4, so whether you take the die or not will have no effect.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xander Michael
Finland
Helsinki
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm confused as to how this specialist is any good. If I keep my #1 scientist and I place it on a die then I get 1x the benefit, same as rolling at the end of the round only now I don't get to choose what the benefit will be. How is that better?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremiah
Japan
Okazaki
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Xander78 wrote:
I'm confused as to how this specialist is any good. If I keep my #1 scientist and I place it on a die then I get 1x the benefit, same as rolling at the end of the round only now I don't get to choose what the benefit will be. How is that better?


The benefit shines if you’re lucky enough to have an unchosen die with the gain a worker or free paddock upgrade faces. Granted you’d also need to be lucky enough to roll one of those faces.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Udo Borries
Germany
Schnelldorf
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Another question regarding this specialist: when i discard her, i get the lvl-1-scientist back, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremiah
Japan
Okazaki
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Unisus wrote:
Another question regarding this specialist: when i discard her, i get the lvl-1-scientist back, right?


When you fire a specialist you lose all bonuses they gave like workers, etc., so yeah your scientist comes back.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.