Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Pendragon: The Fall of Roman Britain» Forums » Rules

Subject: Battle Losses Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Hatch
United States
California
flag msg tools
After one solo play through and a re-read of the rules, I have a question on battle losses.

Are battle losses only applied to unit if they can be fully absorbed by the loss value of the units involved? In other words are fractional losses that do not fully equal a units loss value get ignored, or if there is a fractional loss, must it be allocated and essentially rounded up to the loss value of the smallest loss value unit available?

For example, during the Escalade step on an Assault, assume that 3 Dux cavalry are assaulting a Saxon settlement garrisoned by 2 Warbands. Per the escalade rule, Dux may elect to have one cavalry unit can absorb double losses. If further states, this is usually two losses, perhaps preventing any removal. The two Saxon Warbands have an escalade defense of .5 each for a total of 1 loss to be applied to the Dux cavalry. Does this kill off one of the Dux cavalry at this point (a loss even fractional must be applied), or since the Dux cavalry can absorb two losses, and there are no other units involved with a loss value of one or less to be taken since the double value cavalry is at the front of the loss line, is the escalade loss ignored before moving to the Storm step, allowing the Dux to remove the settlement since it can storm with 3 cavalry instead of 2?

Does this also apply to situations in a Field Battle, where for example a single Warband (loss value 1) is up against a single Militia (loss value .5) or a Saxon Warband using Shield Wall (loss value 2) is up against 3 militia (loss value 1.5) or say a single Comitates + a single militia (combined loss value of 1.5)?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Kassel
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
A Unit must be allocated its full loss in order to be removed
(Cavalry to Casualties, 1.4.1). Within a Battle step, all losses that
can be absorbed to remove a Unit must be (EXCEPTION: Cavalry
in Assault, 3.6.4). It is therefore possible that the final ½ loss
suffered in a Battle is in effect ignored. Within these restrictions,
each Battling Faction selects its own Units to absorb losses.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Morgane Gouyon-Rety
Canada
Montreal
QC
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jkhatch wrote:
After one solo play through and a re-read of the rules, I have a question on battle losses.

Are battle losses only applied to unit if they can be fully absorbed by the loss value of the units involved? In other words are fractional losses that do not fully equal a units loss value get ignored, or if there is a fractional loss, must it be allocated and essentially rounded up to the loss value of the smallest loss value unit available?

For example, during the Escalade step on an Assault, assume that 3 Dux cavalry are assaulting a Saxon settlement garrisoned by 2 Warbands. Per the escalade rule, Dux may elect to have one cavalry unit can absorb double losses. If further states, this is usually two losses, perhaps preventing any removal. The two Saxon Warbands have an escalade defense of .5 each for a total of 1 loss to be applied to the Dux cavalry. Does this kill off one of the Dux cavalry at this point (a loss even fractional must be applied), or since the Dux cavalry can absorb two losses, and there are no other units involved with a loss value of one or less to be taken since the double value cavalry is at the front of the loss line, is the escalade loss ignored before moving to the Storm step, allowing the Dux to remove the settlement since it can storm with 3 cavalry instead of 2?

Does this also apply to situations in a Field Battle, where for example a single Warband (loss value 1) is up against a single Militia (loss value .5) or a Saxon Warband using Shield Wall (loss value 2) is up against 3 militia (loss value 1.5) or say a single Comitates + a single militia (combined loss value of 1.5)?
As Tom Kassel said: partial losses are not enough to kill a unit, but you are not allowed to spread or cherry pick who absorbs losses to minimize your losses. A cavalry leading an Assault during the Escalade Step is an exception, where you are allowed to "screen" weaker units that could have been killed by the losses occurred.

In the example you give, during the Escalade Step, it would take 2 full losses to kill the lead Cavalry (following units would not benefit from that), but the Saxons can only inflict 1 full loss (Intrinsic Garrison at 0, 2 units each inflicting 1/2 loss (Esacalade Defense factor of a Settlement), no assailant is killed. Then, during the Storm step, the 2 Saxon warbands each kill 1 Cavalry, and are themselves wiped out by the 3 assaulting Cavalry units (losses are simultaneous within a step), as is the 0-strength Intrinsic Garrison, resulting in a destroyed Saxon Settlement and one surviving Cavalry.

That is also true in Field Battles: in all the examples you give, the lone Saxon Warband survives unscathed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.