Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Dragonfire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Save+1? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nathan Rine
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Som playing Dragonfire on Table top (seems to not been updated much)

And Orog has Save+1 um how does that work I read rules know what save does but I mighta missed how it activates? When Orog enters play does he save then after resolve next encounter placement?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrik Severinsson
Sweden
Sundbyberg
Sundbyberg
flag msg tools
...microbrewed beer.
badge
...more hops, better die rolls.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A save is performed when a card calls for it.

Obstacles with "save +1" draws an extra card when a save is called for. Having "save +1" does not by itself call for performing a save.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Rine
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well when does he save it just says Save +1 or does it mean if an effect forces a save he draws 2 cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ade Lewis
United Kingdom
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
Save +1 means you draw 2 cards from the relevant deck when a save is required.
Save +2 means you draw 3 cards
et al.

Saves can be triggered in many ways - if it is - this is what save + means
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrik Severinsson
Sweden
Sundbyberg
Sundbyberg
flag msg tools
...microbrewed beer.
badge
...more hops, better die rolls.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BardicSkaven wrote:
Well when does he save it just says Save +1 or does it mean if an effect forces a save he draws 2 cards?
It saves when an effect forces it to save. And when an effect forces it to save, it draws an additional card (because of Save +1).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
BardicSkaven wrote:
Som playing Dragonfire on Table top (seems to not been updated much)

And Orog has Save+1 um how does that work I read rules know what save does but I mighta missed how it activates? When Orog enters play does he save then after resolve next encounter placement?

The following is a summary of a post I made elsewhere about Saves
Quote:
The Save on the card isn't triggered by anything on the card itself. It's not triggered when the card takes damage or when it is defeated or anything like that.

What Save means is that when the card is required to make a Save check, then it gets a chance to pass the check and possible ignore an attack or effect from the player.

This would happen quite infrequently because there aren't many circumstances that require a Encounter to make a save. For example, out of the 60 original Market cards, it's only the Confusion card that causes an Humanoid / Giant Encounter card to make a Save.

CONFUSION
One Humanoid or Giant Encounter must Save.
Failure: The encounter must skip its next attack.
The player deals its damage as colorless to
another encounter.

So it's only when a card like Confusion is used against cards like the Half-Red Dragon Veteran that the Save is used. Apart from situations like this, the Save keyword is ignored.


Using the search, you would have found some of the many threads on this topic.

Blue Slaad - Save +1
Save ability on encounters Half Red Dragon Veteran
Saves
Save as a stand-alone ability?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Beeman
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Houston, TX
badge
Little Light
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nathan,

Please do a search on the forums for your questions first. If you searched simply "Save +1" you would have found this thread outlining it:

https://boardgamegeek.com/article/27673905#27673905
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
SteoanK wrote:
Please do a search on the forums for your questions first

But then there wouldn't be any questions to answer!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Beeman
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Houston, TX
badge
Little Light
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
xris wrote:
SteoanK wrote:
Please do a search on the forums for your questions first

But then there wouldn't be any questions to answer!


But if the literal name of the thread is searchable to find the answer because someone else already asked isn't that easier?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
SteoanK wrote:
xris wrote:
SteoanK wrote:
Please do a search on the forums for your questions first

But then there wouldn't be any questions to answer!


But if the literal name of the thread is searchable to find the answer because someone else already asked isn't that easier?

That may be true for some range of normal person Some people sadly find it easier to just ask. Hmmmm, I think the term I'm actually looking for is "lazy". That way they don't have to do any work, some other poor smuck has to spend the time and effort to do their bidding.

I must admit, the only reason I replied above was because I knew I could just cut and paste the answer.

On the positive side, we can but hope that the fact this questions is asked time and time again will be a flag for Catalyst to add it to their FAQ!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ade Lewis
United Kingdom
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
I'm thinking of starting a Save +3 thread.... :whistle:
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.