Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Fourth Edition)» Forums » General

Subject: Question about The Arborec rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Badoux Jerome
Switzerland
flag msg tools
designer
mb
Hi,

With the Arborec your GF can produce.
GF can be onboard of Carrers.

Therefore, I don't see any rules that prevent you to produce units while traveling in space (producing with the GF onboard of carreers.

Dis I miss something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
That works, but the GF are placed in the space area, so subject to your capacity.

That said, you can/must place produced units with any producing unit that has production ability (regardless of specific production capacity contributed to that build), so as long as you have or land *some* GF on planet as part of that activation, you could put all produced ones on that planet too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Badoux Jerome
Switzerland
flag msg tools
designer
mb
Quote:
That said, you can/must place produced units with any producing unit that has production ability (regardless of specific production capacity contributed to that build), so as long as you have or land *some* GF on planet as part of that activation, you could put all produced one on that planet too.


Not sure I understand this part
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Ok, let's look at a non-Arborec situation. In fact, let's look at a Hacan example for maximum illustrativeness.

You have a 3-planet system with 2 space docks.
If you build GFs there, they must be placed on a planet with a dock, not on the the third planet without dock. Specific production capacities do not matter though and are not kept track of in detail - you could place all the GF with just one of the 2 docks.

So, applying this to Arborec:
Your carrier holding 4 GF (unupgraded, PRODUCTION 1) hovers over (or moves to, doesn't matter for this issue) a planet with 2 GF. You activate the system, for some reason do not want to land the 4 GF, and want to build.
You can build 6 GF (your max build capacity in system) and place them all on planet (because a unit with PRODUCTION that participated in the build is there), your "full" capacity in the system is not a problem.

Edit: If you did NOT have those 2 GFs on the planet, and still did not want to land any (because it's actually an empty system in this example or something), any GF you build would have to be placed "with" a producing unit, ie the space area. You better also produce a carrier with that build or they'd die from lack of capacity.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Badoux Jerome
Switzerland
flag msg tools
designer
mb
The question is more about producing in an empty space system for instance.

And more genral question

If you have multiple units with production on a planet they cumulate their production capacity... tht is fine.

But if they are on 2 diffferent planets on a same systems you can produce everything on only one planet of is it like in TI3 you produce what you can PER planet?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
See my edit for empty space.

Yes, multiple units can pool, and you can place resulting units wherever, as long as they go where a producing unit is. You don't need to bookkeep who exactly contributed how much production capacity.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's one of the things they simplified in TI4. You don't need to keep track of exactly which "PRODUCTION" unit is building what - you juts pool it together, and place the units spread out between them as you see fit (or all in one place, if you want).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gandalf the Greyjoy
Poland
Warsaw
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Or, in case you are in a system with no planets and at full capacity, just build more ships. I mean grow more ships.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keillen Johnson
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
living reference 59.3 and 59.4
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.