Nat Edson
msg tools
I apologize if this has been asked already and it's probably painfully obvious, but we couldn't find an answer.

In the first mission after the tutorial, there comes a point where you have to escort rebels back to a transport. They're represented by tokens, and in the app it says "You may protect them by standing in an adjacent square" or something to that effect.

Basically, we're not sure what that means. If protect is a mechanic, we're not seeing it anywhere. We thought it might have meant the same thing as the ability on the Royal Guard, but it wasn't clear. Thought I'd check.

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think a more formal description of the mechanism was shown in the screen at some point.

Rephrased:
When a rebel mission token (crew) is targeted for an attack, an adjacent hero becomes the target instead.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joao Rodrigues
Brazil
Guarulhos
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Like Pasi said, I can't double check it now, but read it carefullly. I believe the rest of the text says exactly what it means, which is that if there is an adjacent hero that could be the target for that attack, the imperial figure attacks the hero instead of the token.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nat Edson
msg tools
That's how we ended up ruling it, but we didn't see an explanation. Which I'm sure means we just missed it and it was plain as day. Haha. Thanks for the help!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I’m fairly certain in that mission when an imperial targets one of the tokens the description of the attack indicates to instead target one of the rebel heroes if they are adjacent to the token.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Dallaire
Canada
Jonquière
Québec
flag msg tools
Live from Jonquière Beach!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What happen when an imperial target one of the tokens with a rebel hero adjacent (so he have to target the rebel instead) but does'nt have LOS on the rebel hero?

Does he keep targeting the hero even without LOS or he can attack the Token when this happen?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yan Bertrand
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
PopolDal wrote:
What happen when an imperial target one of the tokens with a rebel hero adjacent (so he have to target the rebel instead) but does'nt have LOS on the rebel hero?

Does he keep targeting the hero even without LOS or he can attack the Token when this happen?

I've played that "no". The rule is explained when you click a token. Here's how I read it.
If a hero is adjacent to a token, that token can't be targeted. (At least for the part we are discussing.) The IA rules for the imperial figures then add that, instead, you should target the closest hero. (But if the imperial figure doesn't have LOS to the hero, then that doesn't happen. Like normal.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomasz Ocieczek
Poland
Sosnowiec
Śląskie
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And what will happen if token ends itd movement on the ocupied grid?
And all adjacent grids are also occupied ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tokens are tokens, they can share a space with a figure.

(Even when they are representing characters, they are not neutral or rebel figures.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cracky McCracken
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PopolDal wrote:
What happen when an imperial target one of the tokens with a rebel hero adjacent (so he have to target the rebel instead) but does'nt have LOS on the rebel hero?

Does he keep targeting the hero even without LOS or he can attack the Token when this happen?


Good question. Pretty sure the answer is that tokens don't block los. So pew-pew away.

Note that this protection rule goes away after a round or two and the Imps start blasting the tokens instead of the rebs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Dallaire
Canada
Jonquière
Québec
flag msg tools
Live from Jonquière Beach!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cracky wrote:

Good question. Pretty sure the answer is that tokens don't block los. So pew-pew away.


That's the way i played it also.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nat Edson
msg tools
Cracky wrote:

Note that this protection rule goes away after a round or two and the Imps start blasting the tokens instead of the rebs.


Whoa, hold up. This may have been our issue. I went back through the log and I didn't see any explanation as to what protect was. That said, we got the minor peril effect that makes imps target the tokens directly immediately, before they ever would have attacked them otherwise.

Maybe that's the issue?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Norphinkr21 wrote:
we got the minor peril effect that makes imps target the tokens directly immediately, before they ever would have attacked them otherwise.

Maybe that's the issue?

Yes, most definitely. You probably spent much too much time just drinking and gambling at the bar...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nat Edson
msg tools
a1bert wrote:

Yes, most definitely. You probably spent much too much time just drinking and gambling at the bar...


Quite possibly, although I’m guessing the issue came from us standing just outside the next room so the two randomly spawned nexus couldn’t get to us and we plonked them down.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomer Mlynarsky
Israel
flag msg tools
Necrobumping cause I just did the mission the past weekend, one question -

Spoiler (click to reveal)

Every round, we got a peril effect that killed one of the tokens.

Is this normal? It didn't seem like we wasted many rounds or something and there's nothing we can do to stop game events.

Do you always end up with only 1 living token?
If not, do you get better rewards if you manage to save more?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yan Bertrand
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GrandMasterFox wrote:
Necrobumping cause I just did the mission the past weekend, one question -

Spoiler (click to reveal)

Every round, we got a peril effect that killed one of the tokens.

Is this normal? It didn't seem like we wasted many rounds or something and there's nothing we can do to stop game events.

Do you always end up with only 1 living token?
If not, do you get better rewards if you manage to save more?

I have never seen that effect you refer to. I've done what you refer to in the second part, but don't remember getting something special. So - not sure, sorry, but it is indeed possible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alvin Lo

California
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Herman92 wrote:
PopolDal wrote:
What happen when an imperial target one of the tokens with a rebel hero adjacent (so he have to target the rebel instead) but does'nt have LOS on the rebel hero?

Does he keep targeting the hero even without LOS or he can attack the Token when this happen?

I've played that "no". The rule is explained when you click a token. Here's how I read it.
If a hero is adjacent to a token, that token can't be targeted. (At least for the part we are discussing.) The IA rules for the imperial figures then add that, instead, you should target the closest hero. (But if the imperial figure doesn't have LOS to the hero, then that doesn't happen. Like normal.)


I don't get this part "The IA rules for the imperial figures then add that, instead, you should target the closest hero. (But if the imperial figure doesn't have LOS to the hero, then that doesn't happen. Like normal.)"

What is that doesn't happen mean? Do you mean that 1. the imperial figure attack token because rebel is not in line of sign? Or 2. the imperial figure cannot attack either the token or rebel because the rule said "token can't be targeted" and rebel is not in LOS.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here is how I would do it...

Look for the closest token that would be valid regardless of heroes. If it has an adjacent hero, target an adjacent hero instead. If no adjacent hero is valid either, look for the next closest token and repeat the above steps. If all the tokens and their adjacent heroes are exhausted, target the closest Rebel figure.

This is following the concept that you first try to target the thing mentioned, then you try the things that best resemble the thing mentioned (other tokens) and you finally resort to closest Rebel figure.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.