Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » Rules

Subject: HIT resolution - correct use of PINNED - and subsequent Rally rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Mackenzie
France
Penne
flag msg tools
Turn 4 - I get a HIT on a German 3-step 2/1 squad.

So the FIRST thing I do is place a PINNED chit on the 3 step unit. Correct?
Then I draw to get the combat result - in this case an L.
I flip the unit over to its 2-step side and add a Litter Team.
So I assume that the PINNED chit applies to both counters. Correct? ( Seems logical).

Turn 5 - Enemy Activity Check Segment

The enemy units are stilled PINNED.
I do a R2 draw to see which unit is checked first.
Let's say it is the L team.
I use the LAT/PINNED hierarchy and draw a RALLY action.
The L team can't RALLY ( Convert to a Fire Team ) as it is PINNED.

Do I redraw until I get an action that it can perform OR do I try the "Attempt to remove a Pinned marker" ?

Thanks




 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
denis sauzedde
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Masonstone wrote:
Turn 4 - I get a HIT on a German 3-step 2/1 squad.

So the FIRST thing I do is place a PINNED chit on the 3 step unit. Correct?
Then I draw to get the combat result - in this case an L.
I flip the unit over to its 2-step side and add a Litter Team.
So I assume that the PINNED chit applies to both counters. Correct? ( Seems logical).

yes, correct

Masonstone wrote:
Turn 5 - Enemy Activity Check Segment

The enemy units are stilled PINNED.
I do a R2 draw to see which unit is checked first.
Let's say it is the L team.
I use the LAT/PINNED hierarchy and draw a RALLY action.
The L team can't RALLY (Convert to a Fire Team ) as it is PINNED.

Do I redraw until I get an action that it can perform OR do I try the "Attempt to remove a Pinned marker" ?

Thanks

The "pinned litter" team is "pinned" (which is a state that takes precedence over any LAT limitations), so it can rally (which in this case means to attempt to remove the pinned marker)




 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve N
United Kingdom
Macclesfield
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also note that LATs always execute their actions before good order units.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Mackenzie
France
Penne
flag msg tools
Thanks folks,
New to the game - I think I'm trying to interpret some rules-wording far too literally - and here of course, thinking more about it, the Action Tables are having to cover many possibilities, so RALLY here has more than one interpretation, depending on the circumstances. More common sense required
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve N
United Kingdom
Macclesfield
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Read the notes on the player reference card - just to the left of the Pinned/LAT table. That is where you will find the "official" answer to your question. I don't think it is answered in the rules booklet.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Tresman
United Kingdom
Christchurch
Dorset
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ReggieMcFly wrote:
Read the notes on the player reference card - just to the left of the Pinned/LAT table. That is where you will find the "official" answer to your question. I don't think it is answered in the rules booklet.


It in the Rulebook but 4asily missed, unless actually reading pinned section.
Page 21

Pinned

(This state takes precedence over any other LAT limitations listed below.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.