Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Range +0 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kyle
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Hi guys. I can't seem to find an answer to this. If a card has a range +0, specifically the level 1 Mindthief card, "Submissive affliction" which reads:

Force one enemy within Range 5 to preform
Attack 2
Range 0
targeting another enemy with you controlling the action




Does this attack become a ranged attack if the monster has no range on their monster card?

In other words, if I use it on two guards who are adjacent to each other is the attack done with a disadvantage draw?

Thanks in advance guys.
P.S. - While searching for this answer I also learned the attack is drawn from the Monster deck and not my own if anyone else missed this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Willott
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty sure it won't make it ranged. But if it's ranged to begin with it will stay ranged.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Pretty sure it won't make it ranged. But if it's ranged to begin with it will stay ranged.


That's how I had been playing it, however it makes me wonder why put the range on the card at all? If a monster doesn't have range on their ability card, but does have range on the Monster sheet, is the attack no longer ranged?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Ziemer
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Bndeulogy2 wrote:
Quote:
Pretty sure it won't make it ranged. But if it's ranged to begin with it will stay ranged.


That's how I had been playing it, however it makes me wonder why put the range on the card at all? If a monster doesn't have range on their ability card, but does have range on the Monster sheet, is the attack no longer ranged?


I believe the card says Range +0 in order to let you know that it uses the enemies base range. Specifically, the atk 2 is a flat amount and is in no way dependent on the enemies base atk value so it could be confusing if there is no mention of range. So Isaac put range +0 to make it clear it is he enemies base range that is used.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fito R
Argentina
flag msg tools
Avatar
Careful there, Range 0 and Range +0 are two different things! Someone with a Range 0 attack couldn't attack at all! If it says Range +0, then it means you just use the range printed on the monster card. If it's a dash - it means its a melee attack. Otherwise, just use the value listed.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds good, thanks for clearing that up guys.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Herr Nihl

Hawaii
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Joou wrote:
Careful there, Range 0 and Range +0 are two different things! Someone with a Range 0 attack couldn't attack at all! If it says Range +0, then it means you just use the range printed on the monster card. If it's a dash - it means its a melee attack. Otherwise, just use the value listed.


Sorry, not following. Why would the card say Attack 2 and the have the Range 0 negate that?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
HerrNihl wrote:
Joou wrote:
Careful there, Range 0 and Range +0 are two different things! Someone with a Range 0 attack couldn't attack at all! If it says Range +0, then it means you just use the range printed on the monster card. If it's a dash - it means its a melee attack. Otherwise, just use the value listed.


Sorry, not following. Why would the card say Attack 2 and the have the Range 0 negate that?

the card in question "MindThief's "Submissive Affliction" says "Range + 0", so it uses the monster's base range.

If there is a card that says "Range 0", it is probably an error. (not to be confused with "Range -" [dash], which means melee attack.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.