Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Near and Far» Forums » Rules

Subject: Game End Question: Who gets last turn? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sam R
United States
Provo
Utah
flag msg tools
So the rule book states that after the 14th tent is placed out on the board (or in the mines or used for threat cards) that player triggers the game’s end. It states to finish the round so that everyone can have an equal amount of turns, yet the rule book states that the person to the LEFT of the first player would get the last turn.

Is this a typo? For everyone to have equal turns that would mean that the last turn would be taken by the player to the RIGHT of the first player, not the left.

Which of these is right?

Example 1 (according to the rules):
Mike places his 14th tent triggering the end game. Everyone else BUT mike gets a turn and the game ends.

Example 2:
Mike is the last player in turn order (he is sitting to the RIGHT of the first player), Mike places his 14th tent and triggers the end game. Since mike was the last in turn order And he triggered the end game nobody else gets a turn because his turn is the last in the round. The game ends. (What a douche).

So which of these is right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Staines
United Kingdom
Grantham
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty sure the answer is that everyone but the player who triggered the end of the game gets one last turn.

I don't have the link to hand, but I seem to recall Red Raven clarified this close to the game's release, and noted that the game doesn't actually tell you which direction to pass turns around the table - so if you're playing anticlockwise, then it is in fact the player to the left of the player who places their last tent who takes the final turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Harrow
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Bichatse wrote:
I'm pretty sure the answer is that everyone but the player who triggered the end of the game gets one last turn.

This is only true if the player who went first at the beginning of the game also managed to trigger the end of the game.

The rulebook has been updated online to say "right" instead of "left" (p. 28):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/npzn6wu7tbshakw/nearandfar_ruleboo...

You just finish the round, and whoever went first at the start of the game will not get another turn once the tent condition has been met.

For example, in a four player game, if the person who went third placed his last tent, then the fourth player will take a turn and the game will end. That is what it means for each player to have an equal number of turns.

So, your second option is correct. Mike places his last tent, concludes his turn, and the game immediately ends.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Staines
United Kingdom
Grantham
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
XeyneGaming wrote:

This is only true if the player who went first at the beginning of the game also managed to trigger the end of the game.


Ah, you're right - it's "everyone gets the same number of turns" rather than "everyone gets one more turn".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.