Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Mage Wars Academy» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few rules need clarifing!!!! Thabks in advance rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shelia Wright
United States
Buffalo
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1.... If you guard with a creature, he ONLY gets counterstrike if he himself has a quick action melee attack? If he had only a ranged attack and guarded he couldn't counterstrike with that?? Is that correct??

2. Page 16 in the rulebook seems to contradict itself... If you have an equipment in a location and you decide to bring out a new one does the old one get discarded or does it go back into your spellbook??

3. If you have an enchantment that says you must reveal at a specific time but at that time you do not have enough mana for the "open eye" cost what happens?

4. If you have doublestrike you make 2 attacks before counterstrike, but the opponent does not get to "double counterstrike" correct??


5.. How does tangleroot work... Do you put it on an opposing creature? It gets one dissipate token during the upkeep step??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dunford
Canada
Kemptville
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shelia102881 wrote:
1.... If you guard with a creature, he ONLY gets counterstrike if he himself has a quick action melee attack? If he had only a ranged attack and guarded he couldn't counterstrike with that?? Is that correct??


Correct. The creature must have a quick action melee attack (e.g. lightning symbol and sword symbol) in order to counterstrike via Guarding. Creatures with only ranged attacks and/or only full-action attacks will not counterstrike, but can still Guard to draw away incoming enemy melee attacks.

Shelia102881 wrote:
2. Page 16 in the rulebook seems to contradict itself... If you have an equipment in a location and you decide to bring out a new one does the old one get discarded or does it go back into your spellbook??


It goes back in your spell book. It's pretty clear on pg. 16:
"If a Mage casts a second equipment spell for the same location on himself, it replaces the previous spell - return the old equipment to your spellbook. (Note that an enemy Mage cannot use this trick on you! They cannot cast an equipment item on your Mage in a location already taken.)"

Shelia102881 wrote:
3. If you have an enchantment that says you must reveal at a specific time but at that time you do not have enough mana for the "open eye" cost what happens?


You must reveal it at the specified time, but if you can't - or choose not - to pay its mana cost, it gets discarded without effect.

Shelia102881 wrote:
4. If you have doublestrike you make 2 attacks before counterstrike, but the opponent does not get to "double counterstrike" correct??


Correct.

Shelia102881 wrote:
5.. How does tangleroot work... Do you put it on an opposing creature? It gets one dissipate token during the upkeep step??


When Tangleroot is revealed and its cost is paid, you place 3 Dissipate markers on its card. During each following Upkeep phase, remove 1 Dissipate marker. When the last Dissipate marker is removed, discard Tangleroot.

This is how all spells with the Dissipate X trait work. The difference is what effects the Dissipate markers have, aside from destroying the spell when the last one is removed.
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shelia Wright
United States
Buffalo
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks so much for the clarifications!! I did read that part in the instructions but then in the next few paragraphs it says they are discarded.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Challis
United Kingdom
Hungerford
West Berkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are right, it's badly written, and they are trying to handle two different cases. If it's destroyed, it gets discarded, if it's replaced, it goes back to your spellbook. They shouldn't have mentioned rep[lacing again in that last paragraph.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shelia Wright
United States
Buffalo
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks everyone!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.