Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hook and Chain Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
metony mous
msg tools
Avatar
mb

The Brute level 3 card Hook and Chain reads:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Move 4
If the movement was in a straight line, perform
Attack X
where X is the number of hexes you move with this action

Could you use this action partly, like move 1 to get in position, then (throw your hook) and move 3 in a straight line, and then get attack 3?

Or with Boots of Striding, move 2 to get in position, and then move 4 to get 4 attack?

Or does the entire movement have to be in a straight line?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Brennan
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From what I understand, you can not split up parts of a Move and insert the Attack in between, so the answer to your first question would be 'no'.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan
Germany
flag msg tools
Spoiler (click to reveal)
metonymo wrote:
Could you use this action partly, like move 1 to get in position, then (throw your hook) and move 3 in a straight line, and then get attack 3?

No, the full movement must have been in a straight line. You could Move 2 in a straight line, skip the last 2 points of movement and then do Attack 2.

metonymo wrote:
Or with Boots of Striding, move 2 to get in position, and then move 4 to get 4 attack?

Nope, as above, all of the movement has to be in a straight line, or you cannot perform the attack at all. With those boots, you could do up to Move 6, Attack 6, if that happened to be in a straight line.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
metony mous
msg tools
Avatar
mb

Thanks,
I agree, it seems to be the intention to have the entire movement in a straight line to get the effect, else it would be way too useful.

To get in position first,I guess the only card it combos with, is the upper action of the level 2 card Juggernaut:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Move 2
Attack 2


You could use the 2 movement to get in position, then trow your hook.

Edit: Of course, you could not use the 2 Move from Juggernaut with Hook and Chain, but it could help you get in position to use the hook.

(Maybe i should have taken Juggernaut instead of Fatal Advance at level 2...)


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You always read cards and perform actions from the top down, and you can't backtrack on those actions like you're suggesting.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
metony mous
msg tools
Avatar
mb

mfaulk80 wrote:
You always read cards and perform actions from the top down, and you can't backtrack on those actions like you're suggesting.


What backtracking did you think about?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mfaulk80 wrote:
You always read cards and perform actions from the top down, and you can't backtrack on those actions like you're suggesting.


He wasn't suggesting backtracking. When he says, "throw your hook" he's just talking about thematically what would be happening. Mechanically he still meant to spend all of his movement first.

EDIT: Fixed a pronoun.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.