Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Kingdom Death: Monster» Forums » Rules

Subject: Using Dash and Cumbersome Weapons rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark A
msg tools
Can I use Dash to move my survivor into range and then fire a bow using my regular movement and activation actions? I’m uncertain because attacking survivors are not permitted to use survival.

I’m just trying to make sure I’m playing this right and not overthinking things. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessio Massuoli
Italy
Terni
Umbria
flag msg tools
Sloth might be my spirit animal
badge
Ok, ok, NOW I get it!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark A
msg tools
Thanks, Alessio!

You’ve helped me out quite a bit here on the boards. Much appreciated!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klutz
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
I am a "certified" art critic.
badge
I am a professional BGG commenter.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

One thing you cannot do with Cumbersome weapons:

Use survival to Dash and Surge at the same time to attack with the Cumbersome weapon.


When you Dash, you gain one "movement" that must be spent immediately - aka, before you get to Surge.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BG.EXE
United States
flag msg tools
I favor Euros, but I like pretty much all games.
badge
Make the kinds of posts you want to read.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But you could:

* Dash and use your normal Attack
* Surge and use your normal Movement

To attack twice. But you wouldn't get to move in this case.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TechRaptor Travis
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To piggy-back on what Klutz said: you can shoot twice in one turn if you dash/surge and pair it with your move/act, then do it again using the other survival action and your remaining move/act.

Edit: ninja
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curtis Pickrell
United States
California
flag msg tools
in all these examples when you spend your movement, you're spending it to perform an attach with the bow, right? you never actually get to move...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BG.EXE
United States
flag msg tools
I favor Euros, but I like pretty much all games.
badge
Make the kinds of posts you want to read.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Because of Cumbersome, yes. Cumbersome weapons require both your movement point and action point to activate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chester
United States
Temple
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Attacking survivors can use survival. They just can’t use it during the attack and any monster reaction. But they can use it to facilitate the action or move needed for the attack.

The caveat noted above is that you cannot stack survival acts to move and attack when using a cumbersome weapon.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark A
msg tools
squirtis wrote:
in all these examples when you spend your movement, you're spending it to perform an attach with the bow, right? you never actually get to move...


Unless you use Dash then your movement and activation like I asked in the original post.

Thanks to everyone for your help and clarification!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.