Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Scoundrel's Sinister Opportunity ability card clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Julian KE
Canada
Toronto
ON
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi. We had a discussion last night about how the top half of Sinister Opportunity works when the dark element is consumed. Was hoping someone could help clarify. Here are the two interpretations we were debating:

1. Consuming a dark element adds 2 attack per adjacent ally (instead of 1 attack per adjacent ally if no element is consumed).

2. Consuming a dark element adds exactly 2 attack, and the number of adjacent allies is no longer relevant at all (i.e. the attack value before flipping a modifier card is exactly 5, no matter where your allies are).

I believe the correct answer is #1, but I see how it could be read either way. If anyone could help us out, that would be great. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge Robles
Spain
flag msg tools
The correct answer is 1.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I was wondering the same thing yesterday.

The exact working on the top half of that card:
Quote:
Attack 3

Add +1 Attack for each of your allies adjacent to the target.

[consume dark]: Add +2 Attack instead, [1xp]
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Florin
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty sure that should be read as "instead of +1", so option 1.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isaac Childres
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, option 1.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julian KE
Canada
Toronto
ON
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks all. Appreciate the help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pat Pilot
Canada
Ottawa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stuart Cameron
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Cephalofair wrote:
Yes, option 1.


Pfft What does this guy know?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Suhawk75 wrote:
Cephalofair wrote:
Yes, option 1.


Pfft What does this guy know?


He probably read the rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Sauro
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jack Spirio wrote:
Suhawk75 wrote:
Cephalofair wrote:
Yes, option 1.


Pfft What does this guy know?


He probably read the rules.

Nah, he's probably just making things up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.