Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Mountains of Madness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Strange Card... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Giovanni Lord Dracula
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
Sígueme en mi Canal de Youtube
badge
Follow me in my YouTube Channel
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I do not understand this card:

https://ibb.co/gxvHZm

For example, the first case:
I can do 5 or 7 this is clear ...
but what changes if I do 8 and not 9? What does not 9 mean, would not it be a failure even if I did 8?

Thanks for your help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ido Abelman
Israel
Hod Hasharon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the "not" number is just added to confuse you
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can't use the "No" number in your combo to satisfy the requirement.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ido Abelman
Israel
Hod Hasharon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
killerjoe1962 wrote:
You can't use the "No" number in your combo to satisfy the requirement.


I don't think so... English version says "7 or 9 not 5" and so on. Note that the word is "not" instead of "no". If it was "no" I could interpret it as "7 or 9 with no 5". As it is I'm almost 100% sure the "not" refers to the sum rather than any individual card. There is no other examples of the tiles referring to specific card numbers, and besides in the example give the "books" show "5 or 7 not 9" which doesn't make sense under your interpretation either. I am pretty sure it's there for confusion, similar to how the symbols change colors between tiles.
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're right about the tile messing with the players.

I read it as:

5 o"r" 7 no 9 (which I interpret as the requirement has to be a 5 or a 7 & no 9 numbered card can be used)

7 o"r" 9 no 5 (which I interpret as the requirement has to be a 7 or a 9 & no 5 numbered card can be used)

5 o"r" 9 no 7 (which I interpret as the requirement has to be a 5 or a 9 & no 7 numbered card can be used)

"r" being the missing letter

You may be right, though, your way is much easier and ultimately more fun!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giovanni Lord Dracula
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
Sígueme en mi Canal de Youtube
badge
Follow me in my YouTube Channel
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for your help, but how can we be sure? What is the way to resolve these doubts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kertanos
France
Florida
flag msg tools
Quite easy.
There is no card labeled 9.
Cards range from 2 to 6, + bonus 10
So the not 9 can't mean "no card number 9".
It's all just there to confuse you.
You'd expect after erasing colors, swapping colors, getting everything translucid, people would understand the game is just messing with you
4 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kertanos wrote:
Quite easy.
There is no card labeled 9.
Cards range from 2 to 6, + bonus 10
So the not 9 can't mean "no card number 9".
It's all just there to confuse you.
You'd expect after erasing colors, swapping colors, getting everything translucid, people would understand the game is just messing with you


It's MADNESS!!!!
laugh
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred
France
flag msg tools
I understand this card like a double challenge for each symbol.
For example, for the "5 or 7 / not 9", you have to do
- on the one hand 5 or 7
- on the other hand do not especially do 9.
If you do 5 or 7, you pass the 2 tests.
If you do something other than 5 or 7 but not 9, you pass the second but not the first.
If you do 9, you have 2 failures.

Well, it's even more difficult to succeed
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.