Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Catan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Guilherme Aguiar
msg tools
When the resources cards are used, do they come back or out of the game (the same for the special cards)?


If a Knight would make Win the game, can I use It in the same turn It showed up?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Billy McBoatface
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
KGS is the #1 web site for playing go over the internet. Visit now!
badge
Yes, I really am that awesome.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Guizoca wrote:
When the resources cards are used, do they come back or out of the game (the same for the special cards)?


If a Knight would make Win the game, can I use It in the same turn It showed up?

Resource cards are put back into their draw decks after being used.

Development cards are different. They are never returned to the draw deck, you leave them face up in front of you after you use them. Also, you cannot play a development card the turn you acquire it, so in your example you would have to wait until your next turn to play the knight.

(Note that although you must wait a turn to play a development card, the victory point cards are never played at all, they are secret points the moment you buy them. So if you have 9 points, and buy a development card that turns out to be a VP card, then you win instantly; but if you buy a knight that gives you "biggest army," then you have to wait until your next turn to play it and win.)
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bence Bérces
Hungary
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
wmshub wrote:
[q="Guizoca"]
(Note that although you must wait a turn to play a development card, the victory point cards are never played at all, they are secret points the moment you buy them. So if you have 9 points, and buy a development card that turns out to be a VP card, then you win instantly; but if you buy a knight that gives you "biggest army," then you have to wait until your next turn to play it and win.)


We treat VP development cards as normal development cards for sake of the rule. You must 'play' them normally to acquire the VP:
The latest ruleset states that in order to win, you need to have enough VISIBLE VP in your turn. Unplayed development cards are not visible VP-s.

Also a note: in cities and knights there are ways to steal advancement cards, thus stealing unplayed VP cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wilbert Kiemeneij
Netherlands
Eindhoven
flag msg tools
I know the rules, but how do you win this game?
badge
1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bercesben wrote:
wmshub wrote:
[q="Guizoca"]
(Note that although you must wait a turn to play a development card, the victory point cards are never played at all, they are secret points the moment you buy them. So if you have 9 points, and buy a development card that turns out to be a VP card, then you win instantly; but if you buy a knight that gives you "biggest army," then you have to wait until your next turn to play it and win.)


We treat VP development cards as normal development cards for sake of the rule. You must 'play' them normally to acquire the VP:
The latest ruleset states that in order to win, you need to have enough VISIBLE VP in your turn. Unplayed development cards are not visible VP-s.

Also a note: in cities and knights there are ways to steal advancement cards, thus stealing unplayed VP cards.


This is wrong on multiple counts. You don't have to "normally" play VP cards in the base game. You can play however many VP cards you like, and even in the same turn you bought them. So it doesn't really matter whether or not VP development cards are played. You can just reveal them at game end.

In the Cities and Knights expansion things change. the development cards from the base game are not used. Instead, you use the progress cards that come with the expansion. the VP progress cards are always immediately revealed when they are drawn. And these revealed cards cannot be stolen.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bence Bérces
Hungary
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
WilbertK wrote:
bercesben wrote:
wmshub wrote:
[q="Guizoca"]
(Note that although you must wait a turn to play a development card, the victory point cards are never played at all, they are secret points the moment you buy them. So if you have 9 points, and buy a development card that turns out to be a VP card, then you win instantly; but if you buy a knight that gives you "biggest army," then you have to wait until your next turn to play it and win.)


We treat VP development cards as normal development cards for sake of the rule. You must 'play' them normally to acquire the VP:
The latest ruleset states that in order to win, you need to have enough VISIBLE VP in your turn. Unplayed development cards are not visible VP-s.

Also a note: in cities and knights there are ways to steal advancement cards, thus stealing unplayed VP cards.


This is wrong on multiple counts. You don't have to "normally" play VP cards in the base game. You can play however many VP cards you like, and even in the same turn you bought them. So it doesn't really matter whether or not VP development cards are played. You can just reveal them at game end.

In the Cities and Knights expansion things change. the development cards from the base game are not used. Instead, you use the progress cards that come with the expansion. the VP progress cards are always immediately revealed when they are drawn. And these revealed cards cannot be stolen.


Checked the corresponding rules, I was wrong, my apology!
thank You for pointing this one out
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ahh... whole arguments on whether or not Victory cards are "played" or merely "revealed". That brings back memories laugh
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Cook
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
wmshub wrote:
but if you buy a knight that gives you "biggest army," then you have to wait until your next turn to play it and win.)


Have to wait - IN AGONY - until your next turn
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.