Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

War of the Ring: Lords of Middle-earth» Forums » Rules

Subject: Saruman/Galadriel/Elrond/Balrog retreating into siege rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Laurent T.
Germany
flag msg tools
Hi there...
When attacked, can Saruman/Galadriel/Elrond/a passive Balrog retreat into a siege or should they stay outside the stronghold as they cannot move?
What about an active Balrog ?

Thank you


Cheers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They withdraw into siege along with the defending Army. Their Level of 0 means that they can't leave the region, but the Stronghold is inside the region, so they don't have to leave it to withdraw into siege.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Holman
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The cards say they may never leave their region, but the strongholds are in their regions.

It would certainly be uncanonical if Saruman were not allowed to go into siege at Orthanc.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
PaulWRoberts wrote:
It would certainly be uncanonical if Saruman were not allowed to go into siege at Orthanc.


But also quite amusing. I can definitely see Grima Wormtongue doing something like that if given the chance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laurent T.
Germany
flag msg tools
Wow that was fast, thank you.
So, let's say Saruman is in Orthanc with a regular Isengart Unit and is being attacked by a Rohan Army...
If the shadow player chooses to retreat into Siege he risks to lose Saruman, but if he retreats to another region Saruman stays in Orthanc and is only removed by the ents, is this correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
ltissot wrote:
Wow that was fast, thank you.
So, let's say Saruman is in Orthanc with a regular Isengart Unit and is being attacked by a Rohan Army...
If the shadow player chooses to retreat into Siege he risks to lose Saruman, but if he retreats to another region Saruman stays in Orthanc and is only removed by the ents, is this correct?


Yes, only Ents can kill Saruman if there is no army in Orthanc, or if the last unit in Orthanc was killed by Ents.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laurent T.
Germany
flag msg tools
What about Galadriel, Elrond and a passive Balrog, can they stay in Lorien, Rivendell and Moria when their army retreats to an adjacent region?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
ltissot wrote:
What about Galadriel, Elrond and a passive Balrog, can they stay in Lorien, Rivendell and Moria when their army retreats to an adjacent region?


Elrond and Galadriel must, as they cannot leave their regions (which most likely means they are about to die when the shadow moves in to conquer the region immediately afterwards). Passive Balrog must remain behind if its army retreats, but if he's active he must retreat with it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
steva fields
United States
vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ltissot wrote:
What about Galadriel, Elrond and a passive Balrog, can they stay in Lorien, Rivendell and Moria when their army retreats to an adjacent region?
Great question!! Better question, Would they die?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
sixtoedcat wrote:
ltissot wrote:
What about Galadriel, Elrond and a passive Balrog, can they stay in Lorien, Rivendell and Moria when their army retreats to an adjacent region?
Great question!! Better question, Would they die?


No, not by virtue of being left behind alone in the region; but if Elrond or Galadriel's armies have retreated out of their region, it means that the Shadow is about to move in and conquer, which would kill them. A passive Balrog would be in no danger.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
csouth154 wrote:
No, not by virtue of being left behind alone in the region; but if Elrond or Galadriel's armies have retreated out of their region, it means that the Shadow is about to move in and conquer, which would kill them. A passive Balrog would be in no danger.

To elaborate further, normally a Character without an Army would not be eliminated if an enemy Army entered the region they are in. However, Elrond and Galadriel are special cases because their cards state that they are eliminated if their respective Strongholds are captured by the Shadow.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.