Hide
3 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » General

Subject: What could I have done differently rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ka Ng
msg tools
Not pretending to be an expert, I am very new to the game.
Just had one game on steam, me as us headlined Europe scoring card and opponent headlined Destalin, placing 2 op in India, 2 in Pakistan. my hand was Us Japan pack, a 3 op card and the rest were 1 or 2 op, opponent made a weak coup in Iran which left him 0-1, I used the Japan card to coup Pakistan the roll went very badly and Failed. USSR then used Vietnam Revolt to go into Thailand, fearing USSR using a 4op card to take Korea, I had no choice but to used 3 op card to put one influence in South Korea, one in Malaysia and one in Costa rice just to maintain access to Central America in case USSR couped panama. But The USSR burnt another 4 op red purge, placing 3 in Thailand, and one in India. As two 4op cards were gone, the most feasible way for the USSR to gain South Korea was through Korean War, so I shored up Taiwan with 2op. Since Japan pack was discarded, USSR played China card and gained control over japan immediately, all I left were 1 op cards so I just put it into Taiwan bringing it under my control then USSR triggered Korean War and won, gaining him 2vp and South Korea. So by end of turn USSR grasped all BG in Asia and all I got left were 1 op cards which didn’t allow me to break control, Turn 2 USSR headlined Asia scoring card getting 12 vp, plus the two he got in Korean War. I tried to contest ME and Asia with only minimal success, USSR won Arab Israel war, he also used info paki war on India and somehow won, netting another 4vp. Turn 3 He headlined Asia scoring again and I lost the game. Was there anything I could have done better? Or did I actually lost the game already right at the beginning?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erwin Lau
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb