Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Pandemic: Rising Tide» Forums » Rules

Subject: Afsluitdijk rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim P
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Fistful of Meeples
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Played our first game of this last night, were a bit unsure on how this one works.

When it's built, Zuiderzee becomes a normal low-elevation region, but we weren't sure how it interacted with the Nordzee.

Is it constantly exposed? (Meaning it always has Sea level minus 1 water?) or does the Hydraulic structure count as a dike (so it's always protected from the sea, but can flood if the other inland provinces get wet enough)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vand Lys
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
It actually is a dike in all the regular ways, except that it can't be broken : )

Page 10 of the manual states:

Treat it as a low-elevation region.
[...]
The Afsluitdijk itself can never be removed due to a Dike Failure card.

So it's not just "sea level minus one water". Just like all other low-elevation regions it depends on its surroundings. It can hold 3 cubes, is prone to flooding and can be entered by players just like every other low-elevation region.

Hope this helps!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yvet Veltkamp
Netherlands
1093HC Amsterdam
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mightyjim wrote:
Played our first game of this last night, were a bit unsure on how this one works.

When it's built, Zuiderzee becomes a normal low-elevation region, but we weren't sure how it interacted with the Nordzee.

Is it constantly exposed? (Meaning it always has Sea level minus 1 water?) or does the Hydraulic structure count as a dike (so it's always protected from the sea, but can flood if the other inland provinces get wet enough)?


'Afsluitdijk' you can translate as 'blocking dike'. In reality it has in fact closed off the Zuiderzee. After it was built the name 'Zuiderzee' has changed to 'Ijsselmeer' since it is no longer a sea ('zee') but a lake ('meer'). After building the afsluitdijk we could reclaim land from the former Zuiderzee, like you can do in the game. You replay the history of the Netherlands
5 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terence Aries
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As above, but to give you an image of the size of the thing, it is 30 km long and 90 meters wide. It has a highway on top, 2x2 lanes, and during WW2 the Germans suffered one of their few defeats during the Blitzkrieg at the battle that raged for control of the dike, with heavy artillery barrages and bombardmendts.
2 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark P
msg tools
treat it like a irremovable dike. pg 10 of the rule book states that: "Afsluitdijk functions like a special dike separating the Zuiderzee from the Noordzee..." and "the Afsluitdijk itself can never be removed due to a dike failure card."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.