1. My interpretation is that if you can’t pay wages at the end of a round, you pay at the end of the next round in which you can afford it. But you don’t pay extra - you don’t pay for the round you missed or anything like that, so it’s still just 3 coins - not sure where you got 5 from...
2. If you can’t afford to pay, you keep the remainder, i.e. you would keep 1 or 2 coins to spend however you like... yes, there are no partial wage payments.
Yup this is correct, but I also know where he got the 5 money from
There are 2 ways to get it back:
- Go to office in the real time phase, pay 2 money, use it in that round, then pay 3 salary at the end of the round (after 1 wasted 30 secs, see rulebook). This is a sensible action if you do it early round and use it well.
- At the end of the round where you have more than 3 money left over after paying your currently active workers you MUST pay 3 money, to get the unpaid worker back. In this case it'll be available in the last round.