Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Santa's Workshop» Forums » Rules

Subject: 9th Day Assembly Room rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Tietsort
United States
Windsor
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey there,

So our game was decided last night, by the 2nd to last player taking the last (2nd spot) in the Assembly room. It got them only 1 more cookie for the tool, versus more cookies they could have gotten in the reindeer pen, but this move dictated who won the game since that player was not going to catch up. The last player needed one more tool, she took that space to basically block so another player could win. It was a legal move since she had all the supplies for the Gift, even though the tool was not enough to assemble it. In the 9th round the rules state that in the hustle to get all the toys ready for the kids, Santa allows players to place an elf on a occupied space in the assembly room, but they only get 1 tool regardless to training.

The rule implies that only a second elf can be placed. Does this literally mean only one extra elf per space, meaning that if there is 2 elves on each space a third can’t be added? This is how we played and interpreted it, but based on how the game went down, it felt like on the 9th day, that each space should be open for multiple elves just with the 1 tool handicap?

Also just to clarify the double tool spaces are also only 1 tool on the second elf, that would be a necessity if multiple elves could go to a space on the 9th day.

Thanks Mark and Merry Christmas!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Ferguson
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Hokie Hokie Hokie Hi! Tech Tech VPI!
badge
Santa's Workshop - Coming from Rio Grande Games in 2017
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct. Each space is only allowed to have ONE additional elf - and that elf only gets one assembly token - regardless of their training, or if it's a "double tool" space.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.