Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

Gaia Project» Forums » Rules

Subject: Maximum Scoring Track Values for Final Scoring Tiles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shaun
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
-Gaia-Project-Fanatic-
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I had a few quick questions regarding a game of GP we played last night.

One of the final scoring tiles we had was the 'Most Buildings/Structures' tile.

Is the maximum value on the two scoring tracks for any final scoring tile only 10? We had a situation yesterday we all three players had more than 10 structures in play. Does that mean we all have '10' buildings for scoring purposes on the track? Or do we use our actual structure count to determine final scoring rank despite the maximum shown value on the track only being 10?

Second, does the lost planet count as a 'mine' for scoring and final scoring purposes?

Thanks for the help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope, just use another satellite and start over by 1 for 11 and so on
The real value counts, the list is just there to help you to see who is where

Yes the lost planet count as mine for any purpose
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Wolfpacker
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Jack Spirio wrote:
Nope, just use another satellite and start over by 1 for 11 and so on
The real value counts, the list is just there to help you to see who is where

Yes the lost planet count as mine for any purpose


Confirmed. I'll also add that the Lost Planet with Mine counts as a new planet type for those scoring and benefits dealing with planet types. It allows the Lantids to join them there. It also blocks satellite and space station placements. The only thing the mine does not do is provide ore.

Also, if you need any satellites that are used for markers on the board as satellites, you are allowed to do so. Just grab an unused color to substitute as markers for yourself.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torben
Germany
Gönnheim
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
badge
This is a sloth. It accurately represents my style of life.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jack Spirio wrote:
Nope, just use another satellite and start over by 1 for 11 and so on
The real value counts, the list is just there to help you to see who is where

Yes the lost planet count as mine for any purpose


Right, the tile even has a score of "11" printed on it for the imaginary 3rd player.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Wolfpacker
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Dienes wrote:
Right, the tile even has a score of "11" printed on it for the imaginary 3rd player.


Sigh, that 3rd imaginary player always wins that scoring since we are limited to 10! (that's a joke)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shaun
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
-Gaia-Project-Fanatic-
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the help guys! I suspected I was correct but didn't see a definitive line in the rules that stated so.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitch Harding
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
"The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not mad." - Salvador Dali
badge
Mostly harmless
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JamesWolfpacker wrote:
Jack Spirio wrote:
Yes the lost planet count as mine for any purpose


Confirmed. I'll also add that the Lost Planet with Mine counts as a new planet type for those scoring and benefits dealing with planet types. It allows the Lantids to join them there. It also blocks satellite and space station placements. The only thing the mine does not do is provide ore.


You also cannot upgrade the lost planet mine into a trading station.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert
Germany
Bocholt
flag msg tools
badge
I paid 100 Geek Gold so that you can read this! :-)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JamesWolfpacker wrote:
It [Lost Planet] also blocks satellite and space station placements.
Oh yes! I remember a game where I killed another player's planned federation by blocking the gap between two clusters with the Lost Planet, which would have required him to use way more satellites for forming a federation than via the hex now occupied by the Lost Planet. Quite a nasty suprise... devil
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Wolfpacker
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
mitcharf wrote:
You also cannot upgrade the lost planet mine into a trading station.


I knew I forgot something! blush
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitch Harding
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
"The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not mad." - Salvador Dali
badge
Mostly harmless
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jack Spirio wrote:
Nope, just use another satellite and start over by 1 for 11 and so on


Although whenever you choose to use satellites for non-satellite purposes, it's important to remember that the number of satellites per color is intentionally limited AND even the satellites used for the end-game scoring tracks (and the variable turn order card, if applicable) are playable as actual satellites on the board (as per this thread).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitch Harding
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
"The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not mad." - Salvador Dali
badge
Mostly harmless
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JamesWolfpacker wrote:
I knew I forgot something! blush


No worries! I've learned plenty about Gaia Project from your posts in the forum. I'm just happy to contribute in whatever small way possible.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitch Harding
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
"The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not mad." - Salvador Dali
badge
Mostly harmless
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mitcharf wrote:
JamesWolfpacker wrote:
Jack Spirio wrote:
Yes the lost planet count as mine for any purpose


Confirmed. I'll also add that the Lost Planet with Mine counts as a new planet type for those scoring and benefits dealing with planet types. It allows the Lantids to join them there. It also blocks satellite and space station placements. The only thing the mine does not do is provide ore.


You also cannot upgrade the lost planet mine into a trading station.


One other difference, as we recently learned in this thread, is that the Lost Planet's mine cannot be used with the Ambas' Planetary Institute swap ability.

(noting this here for completeness, in case someone in the future reads only this thread and overlooks the one specifically about the Ambas and the Lost Planet)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Moon
Australia
Glenside
SA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Please show me where it says maximum structures can be more than the maximum displayed on the board which is 10.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How can the dummy value be 11 if it can only be 10?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Helge Ostertag
Germany
Hofheim
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jack Spirio wrote:
How can the dummy value be 11 if it can only be 10?


Use a second marker for all scores above 10.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sixmoons wrote:
Please show me where it says maximum structures can be more than the maximum displayed on the board which is 10.


The designer responded, isn’t that enough?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Moon
Australia
Glenside
SA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jack Spirio wrote:
Sixmoons wrote:
Please show me where it says maximum structures can be more than the maximum displayed on the board which is 10.


The designer responded, isn’t that enough?


Of course it is, now that the designer has responded after my post.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.