14 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: A Stranger Things-esque Game Idea rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
ghost whistler
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I've no idea if this is appropriate here. I'm a complete amateur, but I figured it might be fun to chronicle this project here, right from the beginning (right now). I've always wanted to design a game, but real life will probably nix this completely so, you've been warned

So, the idea:

Stranger Things. Youv'e seen the show. The one with the group of kids set in the eighties in small town usa. They are nerds at school and get embroiled in the wierd goings on at a nearby government facility when one of their own goes missing.

This is inspired heavily by that.

Premise: a coop game where players play kids in that vein, defined by a bunch of stats (Family, Grades, Investigate - for now) that must be tended or used. They share a Bond; if this depletes they lose.
The game will be scenario based: they must work together during a fixed time period, set over the course of a number of days/weeks, to solve the mystery, almost always revolving around the nearby weird government facility nobody reallyunderstands.

Each of the kids also has a dual identity: they are nerds, and they regularly get together to play D&D. During the game, they may take a phase to play D&D. If they do they can change to their D&D characters and investigate as normal, but with a few twists (in the tv show the kids process their perception of what is happening through the fantasy world of D&D). One player always takes the role of DM which is mainly a meta role for breaking ties etc. It's a de facto group leader; if that player ends up losing Bond, a little bit more is lost as a result.