I'm still not very clear about how this works. Somewhere I read one need not control a coastal province in order to place naval attack tokens on the sea border. That doesn't seem to be in line with the general rule of the game - you need to control a province in order to initiate attack from there.
Also, if I have a naval attack token on the sea border of a coastal province, can I attack ANY coastal region? Am I totally missing the point here? Sorry. I have received the game. I've read the rulebook and watched some videos but the naval attack thing is not clear yet.
Naval tokens can be used to attack by sea. There is no requirement that a player has another coastal province. Therefore, naval tokens have slightly more flexibility but they have lower strength.