Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Next War: Poland» Forums » Rules

Subject: Airmobile ADF Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Luminati
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A couple of quick questions that came up thanks to a golden BB from Tallin ADF roles (Ru will clearly be using escort points next time).

1) For ADM DRMs on the Strategic Display, when do you take the "-2" DRM for "same Land Area of enemy Airfield or Installation or Naval Unit". The fact that DRM explicitly includes "Land Area" makes me think there are times when it would apply to this map, but I don't think there are any airfields or installations explicitly indicated on that map. Perhaps they're assumed to exist in each of the land areas? To this point I haven't added the DRM but wasn't sure.

2) Regardless of the DRMs, I have 4 airborne units using 4 airmobile points to drop into Tallin and a role of 0 for ADF resulting in a *Abort. It is my understanding that since all 4 units departed and arrived together, I only make one ADF roll and thus the Abort result means none of the 4 arrive. I was less sure about whether one step loss occurs to one unit or to each of the four units.

Thanks for the help and sorry if I missed these situations in the rules or previous dialogue.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Stueber
United States
Vernon Hills
Illinois
flag msg tools
I am the Sheepdog. I live to protect the flock and confront the wolf.
badge
BRAINS????
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The ports on the Strategic Map are considered Installations so you would get the -2 DRM for Air Defense Fire in those areas. GSR 6.1.1 says the ports on the strategic map are considered ports for all purposes and series rule 8.3.1.2 says ports are installations.

In regards to the airmobile movement you go in one group if all the units are going to the same location and start stacked together per series rule 8.5.4.3 in the fourth paragraph.

Regarding taking the loss the rules state one loss is taken so in a stack of units using airmobile movement that gets an *abort result they would take one step loss and lose an airmobile point.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitchell Land
United States
Ballwin
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BooBoo130 wrote:
The ports on the Strategic Map are considered Installations so you would get the -2 DRM for Air Defense Fire in those areas. GSR 6.1.1 says the ports on the strategic map are considered ports for all purposes and series rule 8.3.1.2 says ports are installations.

In regards to the airmobile movement you go in one group if all the units are going to the same location and start stacked together per series rule 8.5.4.3 in the fourth paragraph.

Regarding taking the loss the rules state one loss is taken so in a stack of units using airmobile movement that gets an *abort result they would take one step loss and lose an airmobile point.


Correct.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Luminati
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the help. I haven't played a scenario with naval forces yet so I only skimmed the section on ports. The people of Riga and Tallin appreciate all the help they can get.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.