Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Wild Blue Yonder» Forums » Rules

Subject: Victory points for bombing and returning undamaged [24.7] rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Bankler
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
"Keep Summer Safe!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule 24.7 says:
Quote:
The striking side also gains VPs for:
• The Mission Success Level attained [21.8]; and
• ► Bombers and Fighters that flew Over Target and returned Undamaged [5.2.1 Note]. In order to claim these VPs, an aircraft must either conduct a Reconnaissance draw or strike the target, even if previous strikes already inflicted enough Damage Points to achieve Success Level 3.


Rule 21.8 says:
Quote:

Against Mission Targets, besides scoring Victory Points (VPs) for enemy aircraft Destroyed or Damaged, you also score for each Bomber that goes Over Target and completes the Mission Undamaged


Apart from that:
1) Must the bomber actually get a hit to count as striking the target?
2) "Returned undamaged" is presumably throughout the entire mission (as per 21.8) but could be as "returned undamaged from over target."
3) Are these for fighters and bombers (24.7) or just bombers (21.8)? (Or do fighters count only if they strafe or drop bombs, in which case I suppose the count as bombers).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Janiec
United States
(Teller County)
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Quote:
1) Must the bomber actually get a hit to count as striking the target?

Per 21.0, "Aircraft strike Mission Targets with their ordnance and/or by strafing during the Over-Target Turn of a Campaign Mission..." No mention of scoring damage points -- failure is always an option!

Quote:
2) "Returned undamaged" is presumably throughout the entire mission (as per 21.8)

That's correct per 21.8.2: "Against Mission Targets..., you also score for each Bomber that goes Over Target and completes the Mission Undamaged." [emphasis added]

Quote:
3) Are these for fighters and bombers (24.7) or just bombers (21.8)? (Or do fighters count only if they strafe or drop bombs, in which case I suppose the count as bombers).

24.7 is "more correct," as it includes Fighters that bomb, strafe, or conduct reconnaissance.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.