Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Dinosaur Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: Builder Specialist rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alan
United States
Trumbull
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Builder's text reads: "You may upgrade paddock capacity by 2 (paying the second cost) instead of by 1 at the Tool Bench."

1. Which of these does it mean?

(A) For a single worker placement, you may do two paddock capacity upgrades by paying the full cost for each one. (The parenthetical is a reminder of the additional cost.)

(B) For a single worker placement, you may do two paddock capacity upgrades by only paying the cost of the second (more expensive) one. (The parenthetical is an indication of the revised cost.)

Bonus question:

2. Do the paddock capacity upgrades have to be for the same paddock?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reddish22
United States
Nampa
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
the Yellow Sign?
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty sure just based on the language that it is B (otherwise the parenthetical makes no sense if A were the case).

And yes, they have to be the same paddock. Upgrade by 2, not two separate paddocks.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S A
msg tools
mbmb
reddish22 wrote:
Pretty sure just based on the language that it is B (otherwise the parenthetical makes no sense if A were the case).

And yes, they have to be the same paddock. Upgrade by 2, not two separate paddocks.


That's how we've been playing it as well.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan
United States
Trumbull
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I feel like option B is overpowered compared to the other specialists. It offers action efficiency AND cost reduction. Many of the specialist bonuses seem like they are situational and/or not quite game changing. Honestly, I view a lot of their benefit as being in the additional worker(s) for those that have them.

And I do think the upgrades have to be for the same paddock, though that's also very unclear.

I await official word from on high.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Durst
United States
Gainesville
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's B.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Schwartz
United States
Jackson
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
www.therulesforge.com
badge
Get your slimy, webbed phalanges off ma boots!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The correct ruling is (B). You make 2 paddock capacity upgrades (on the same paddock) but only pay the second upgrade cost, rather than both.

Example: I have the Builder and I'm upgrading my Allosaurus exhibit from size-2 to size-4. It only takes 1 worker at the Tool Bench and I only pay $4 (instead of the usual 2 workers and $7 this would normally cost).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Lewis
United States
Bath
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FreedomGunfire wrote:
The correct ruling is (B). You make 2 paddock capacity upgrades (on the same paddock) but only pay the second upgrade cost, rather than both.

Example: I have the Builder and I'm upgrading my Allosaurus exhibit from size-2 to size-4. It only takes 1 worker at the Tool Bench and I only pay $4 (instead of the usual 2 workers and $7 this would normally cost).


This is correct.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan
United States
Trumbull
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr Osterman
United States
Clarkston
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alan Stern wrote:
I feel like option B is overpowered compared to the other specialists. It offers action efficiency AND cost reduction. Many of the specialist bonuses seem like they are situational and/or not quite game changing.


I think it's far more tied to the action efficiency rather than the cost. Making a paddock bigger itself doesn't make you any additional money. Compare that cost (depending on how much you got the builder for) with the Make Dinosaurs upgrade gives you up to 3 dinos in one turn for just three workers where without it you're getting 2 dinos for 3 workers and you're capped.

A lot of the upgrades in Phase two depend a great deal not just on your plans but also on the plans of the other players and what they're willing to pass on to get something else.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.