Thanks for the quick response! It's a shame that the rule book doesn't contain an FAQ, especially when it's an excellent rulebook otherwise....
I guess they might not know what the FAQs are until after release!
LOL. I'm sure you were joking. Many rulebooks come with FAQs just by pre-empting possible questions.
There is not always the need for a FAQ though.
Rulebook p. 10 wrote:
Each time a province is successfully defended, the defender places one of their faceup control tokens in that province, which provides that province with a defense bonus during their future battles.
If an attack against a province fails for any reason, that province is also treated as being successfully defended. Finally, if a player places an army, navy, or shinobi token to defend a province and that province is not attacked, the province is treated as being successfully defended.