Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Large 2x2 figures movement through single space wall gaps? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard G
United States
Santa Monica
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
See image for full diagram of situation (SPOILER WARNING - it's layout for LOTA map 3) https://boardgamegeek.com/image/3901442/rgnet1?size=large

TL;DR - Can a 2x2 figure move past a wall where there's only a single space gap?

1) The Elite Nexu is trying to follow instructions. Per Pounce, it is not within 6 spaces of either Hero, as defined in "Counting Spaces" since large figures cannot move diagonally. Correct?

2) For Move to Reposition, it needs to move using regular movement points. I assume the Nexu cannot make it through the single-space wall gap in the middle of the map? If so, the Nexii are stuck on the left side of map indefinitely?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are you sure you have built the map correctly? It looks like the tiles on the left have been offset by 1 space compared to the actual map.

Edit: Confirmed. It looks like you have not built the map correctly. The fingers of 02B and 05B do not allow to build the map like you have. (And the walls do not match.)

A Nexu can not move through, but can Pounce through 1-width corridors, but the regular maps never have those.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that the Nexu also has Mobile so it can move into or through blocking terrain just fine.

Counting spaces for a Pounce is not considered movement and you simply use the counting spaces rules, which means you can’t count through the Blocking Terrain, but can count around it.

And indeed, they can’t go through walls like that setup, but that never exists.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard G
United States
Santa Monica
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Doh! Tabletop Sim doesn't have jigsaw connectors so misalignment is clearly possible... I guess that'll teach me to play without wanting to hog the main room table.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Roop
United States
Mendon
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pounce isn't considered a Move as much as it's a re-locate. You pick a target square to place the figure into. Since it is a 2x2 you can choose any one of it's "corners" to put in the target square.

At least that's the way we played it.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.