Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Patrols rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
ADDA Marc
France
flag msg tools
mbmb
Today, I wanted to try the 3rd battle of the Normandy campaign.
I set up everything, read some rules about patrols, then... i stop everything.
In fact, I'm at loss when it comes to patrols.
Do I use the CO HQ?
Each platoon must 'play' per mission, hence three plays. Ok, so I have one platoon, the attached MG and Baz, and... what else?
I saw that you halve the command points for platoons. Are they automatically activated by higher HQ?
Do you use FO for each platoon patrol?
What about XO and 1st SGT? Are they available for each patrol?
I have only 4 route point markers. It doesn't seem enough. I feel I need at least 7 of them (row 1 to 2, 2 to 3, 3 to 4, 4 to next row, and back to row 1).
Does my route have to go through cards where my troops didn't go through when coming back to row 1?

Marc
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Lacock
United States
Wylie
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Merry Christmas Marc.

Try this as a primer to get going on patrols.

https://sites.google.com/site/fieldsoffirebootcamp/new-playe...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ADDA Marc
France
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks a lot... except that it doesn't answer my questions.
Anyone produced an AAR with a patrol?


Marc
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Ã…kerlund
Sweden
Vallentuna
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Did you read the sections about Combat Patrols in the rules?


madpax wrote:
Do I use the CO HQ?
Yes, you use the same units as in the other missions.

madpax wrote:
Each platoon must 'play' per mission, hence three plays. Ok, so I have one platoon, the attached MG and Baz, and... what else?
FOs, Company staff and Weapon teams. (11.4)

madpax wrote:
I saw that you halve the command points for platoons. Are they automatically activated by higher HQ?
You halve the General Initiative commands not all commands. (3.3D)

madpax wrote:
Do you use FO for each platoon patrol?
Yes. All patrols have the same assets.

madpax wrote:
What about XO and 1st SGT? Are they available for each patrol?
Yes. Rule 11.4 goes for all patrols.

madpax wrote:
I have only 4 route point markers. It doesn't seem enough. I feel I need at least 7 of them (row 1 to 2, 2 to 3, 3 to 4, 4 to next row, and back to row 1).
I don't recall if there are more than four markers and I don't have the game available at the moment. Either way, you use the OBJ 1 marker for the furthest row and you don't need a marker in the starting row, so four should be enough.

madpax wrote:
Does my route have to go through cards where my troops didn't go through when coming back to row 1?
No. (2.4.1C)

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.