Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Next War: Poland» Forums » Rules

Subject: Naval Control Confusion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Brophy
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
I have some questions related to Naval Control, as I am having a hard time understanding rule 7.2.

Assume the Bornholm Basin and Southern Baltic are NATO controlled, along with all relevant inshore boxes. Assume the Northern Baltic is contested, along with all relevant inshore boxes.

Per GSR 5.6.1 the two NATO controlled sea zones will not change, so no die rolls needed for these zones. I presume the same would apply to the relevant Inshore Boxes.

Where I am getting confused is the wording of 7.2, specifically the first paragraph:

"In general, the Initiative/First Player rolls a die for each Inshore box, unless the At Sea Box is Contested. Otherwise, roll for each Inshore box which is either Contested or controlled by a player different than the one who controls the associated At Sea Box."

Using the example above, does this mean there will be no roll for any Inshore boxes associated the Northern Baltic Sea Zone because this Sea Zone is contested?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitchell Land
United States
Ballwin
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bbrophy75 wrote:
I have some questions related to Naval Control, as I am having a hard time understanding rule 7.2.

Assume the Bornholm Basin and Southern Baltic are NATO controlled, along with all relevant inshore boxes. Assume the Northern Baltic is contested, along with all relevant inshore boxes.

Per GSR 5.6.1 the two NATO controlled sea zones will not change, so no die rolls needed for these zones. I presume the same would apply to the relevant Inshore Boxes.

Where I am getting confused is the wording of 7.2, specifically the first paragraph:

"In general, the Initiative/First Player rolls a die for each Inshore box, unless the At Sea Box is Contested. Otherwise, roll for each Inshore box which is either Contested or controlled by a player different than the one who controls the associated At Sea Box."

Using the example above, does this mean there will be no roll for any Inshore boxes associated the Northern Baltic Sea Zone because this Sea Zone is contested?


Correct. If the At Sea Box isn't controlled, then there is no roll for an Inshore Box.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
Avatar
where does this roll occur and what is the target # etc? is there a table?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Shelton
United States
Renton
Washington
flag msg tools
hipshot wrote:
where does this roll occur and what is the target # etc? is there a table?
Sea Control is steps 6 and 7 of the Air/Naval Phase.

The Sea Control table is on the Standard & Advanced Game Tables PAC.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
Avatar
thx i see I was missing a chart, found it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.